Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Questions about 32spline 205 from a manual tranny

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by arq, May 23, 2003.

  1. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    i can get a np205 from a manual tranny setup. could I use this for a doubler??? I know the input shaft is longer, i could just machine that but how bout the bolt pattern??

    ARQ.
     
  2. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    A late 32 spline 205 should be just fine as a doubler. AFAIK, the input on the late 465 205s is the same as a TH400 205. You just need to tell Stephen you have a round pattern adapter/retainer...
     
  3. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    I think the round-pattern Doubler requires swapping in the short 32-spline input... maybe Stephen will chime in to tell us for certain. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    The spline only reaches in so far. If you machined it down to length of the short input, I think you'd lose most - if not all - of the spline engagement
     
  4. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    So the late 32 spline 205 has a longer input? I thought I had read it was the same. In any case, asking Stephen is definitely the way to go...
     
  5. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    arq,
    no you cant machine it down. i have one sitting here.

    you have one of two options. do what russ and i are doing, 31 spline from a ford. goes right in. well, in my case and your case. russ had a small problem. his chevy case didnt have the aluminum seal housing. he made a spacer or something. i dunno, cant remember right now to much in head...

    or option two, buy a short 32 spline input. ORD has them.

    option one would only work for the doubler. option 2 will work for anything. that is anything that needed the short input.

    you cant machine down the long input as for the splines only go back about 1.25 inches or so.
    Grant
     
  6. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    Russ,
    the late models have the long input. this is why i have to do the same thing you had to do. mine is the long input.
    Grant
     
  7. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ahh, I remember that now. I think I was suffering from heat stroke earlier. Wires crossed in the brain... So much stuff to keep straight in such a small container...
     
  8. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    I think i'll pass on the deal unless anyone is interested.

    ARQ.
     

Share This Page