Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Questions from a newbie.........

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 84blazerwhoopee, Feb 16, 2004.

1. 84blazerwhoopee

84blazerwhoopee Registered Member

Hi Folks, I'm new at this and need some advice.

I bought an 84K5 Blazer and need a good repair manual to start fixing the little things. It's stock, and I drove it from California back to Minnesota and noticed it had a hard time handling overdrive, due to the larger than normal tires. I assume that I now need to change the rear end gears to allow the engine to run better, but I have no clue on how to do this. As I said, I'm new at this, and it is my daily driver as well.

My plan is to take the top off this summer and let the kids enjoy some air time, but I also want to install roll bars to protect them. Any ideas on how to do this?

Thanks one and all for all the advice.

Randy mcLain /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. MJF

MJF 1/2 ton status

IMO, cahnging gears isn't something a novice should try on their own. They're relatively expensive & it's pretty labor intensive.

My tranny should have gone out long ago. I drivwe with it in 3rd gear until I get up to ~70 & then shift into OD. I also manually down shift to 3 any time I go uphill or need to pass. If you have big tires & numerically low gears, you'll eventually burn it up pretty much no matter what you do.

3. MJF

MJF 1/2 ton status

Go here http://www.ring-pinion.com/calculators/calculatorsind.html & click on the rpm calculator. You put in tire size, gear ratio, & a speed to see what your rpms will be.