Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Questions from a rookie

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by spotnbirds, Mar 20, 2002.

1. spotnbirds

spotnbirds Newbie

I just bought an 84 blazer and it has 6 inches of lift on it. Is there a way for me to figure out what particular lift was put on it? i.e. superlift or skyjacker or whatever? Also, I have some really basic questions because I'm new to this. Can I leave the hubs locked during the winter so that if I come across a need for 4wd I can just shift on the fly? Or does leaving them locked damage something? Do i need to do the reverse for 10 ft thing when going from 4hi back to 2wd or is that just coming out of 4lo?
    thanks everyone for your patience with my rookie questions!

2. reddog64

reddog64 1/2 ton status

i wouldnt leave them locked...
    will bind the front shafts on cornering...

3. KrebsATM02

KrebsATM02 1/2 ton status

well it seems to be they are manual hubs since you are talking about leaving them locked. Personally i wouldn't nothing is going to bind unless you have some kinda of locker or spool, but it will make your axles and drive shaft spin needlessly. The only situation that 4 wheel drive would help you on is slow speed i believe. i think at high speeds it would just make it easier to loose control. i'm not the one to ask on that question though, for i live in southeast texas. later - Doug

4. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

>I just bought an 84 blazer and it has 6 inches of lift on it.

congrats! Blazers rule!

> Is there a way for me to figure out what particular lift was
    > put on it? i.e. superlift or skyjacker or whatever?