Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

questions- im ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by uglychevyZZ4, Nov 1, 2003.

  1. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    -ok, what is Mbps , and how does that compare to K? as in 56K?
    -I ordered AOL, Im sick od msn junk spam!
    -do i have to do anything special to get er goin once my modem arrives?
    -will my firewall still work?
    -how fast should AOL H/s service go?
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  2. 84k5

    84k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 13, 2000
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    We just got rid of aol dial up and got dsl. Night and day difference. You will like it.
     
  3. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    M means mega, or 1000. Typical cable speed are around 2 -3 Mbps, or 2000 - 3000 K. Yes, it really is THAT much faster than your modem. Compare a bicycle to a motorcycle, but give the bicycle a flat first and you get the picture.

    AOL sucks, I hate AOL, but anything's better than 56k.

    Your modem will arrive and you need to connect it to your computer with either an ethernet cable or a USB cable. Your call. I have hooked my Toshiba cable modem up both via ethernet and via usb 1.1 and have the same throughput up and downstream.

    You *NEED* a firewall with a cable modem, absolutely. Yes, whatever software firewall you have now will work. You need to do a quick test of your firewall.

    Shields up!
    is one of free firewall checking sites.

    You should get thre customary 2 to 3 Mbps, unless AOL's suckiness manages to drag it down.

    My opinion - dump AOL, get Time Warner RoadRunner.

    Take it easy.
     
  4. NerdBoy

    NerdBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Illinois
    -Mbps is MegaBits per Second, K is short for KiloBits per second. 1K=1,000 bits, 1M=1,000,000 bits
    -If you are talking about broadband, you are probably going to need an ethernet card in your computer. Pretty cheap at Bestbuy, if you don't already have one.
    -Most software firewalls will work with both broadband and dialup. You may need to reconfigure it a bit, though.
    -I'm not too familar with AOL H/S. I am assuming that it is the DSL AOL, and that can be as fast as 1.5Mbps, depending on your service area.
     
  5. NerdBoy

    NerdBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Illinois
    Darnit, TXMudder, you beat me by less than a minute. I type too slowly. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  6. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    my connecton manager says 10 Mbps... whats that mean? Im still on my stock modem too, new ones arrives in 1 week.
     
  7. NerdBoy

    NerdBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Illinois
    I'm confused. Are you using broadband already?

    Your connection manager in windows will say 10 Mbps, since that is the speed that your network card is communicating with the modem on the other end of the cable. It isn't an indication of actual Internet speed.
     
  8. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    we are gned and payed, its here, we just have YET to recieve the h/s modem.
     
  9. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK
    KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK = M

    In case you didn't get that already. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  10. Goober

    Goober 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mayberry (Auburn, WA)
    Did you get cable or DSL?

    Hookup should be pretty easy but I'm not so sure that switching to AOL will reduce spam. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif


    If you have any questions or problems setting it up just give me a call and I can walk you through it or stop by and give you a hand. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif OK, we have searched everywhere and found no advertised speed for AOL dsl. so that means it slow right! I dunno I think landline dsl not cable.
    -difference?
     
  12. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I have the internet via cable. In my opinion it the fastest. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  13. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    Re: questions- I\'m ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

    cable is faster than dsl but dsl is still way better then 56k lol if you need a good firewall i can send you zone alarm pro for free /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  14. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    Re: questions- I\'m ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

    they said we only need 1 landline for phone AND DSL...? how does that work?
     
  15. NerdBoy

    NerdBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Illinois
    Re: questions- I\'m ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

    Look here for how they both run on the same set of wires

    How DSL Works
     
  16. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Re: questions- I\'m ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

    2 things...

    1) lots of peeps use Mbps and MBps interchangably. The former is bits, the later is bytes. 8b = B.

    2) whatever you do, avoid comcast like the plague. worst isp. ever. Im not the only one who thinks so either, search the web for customer reviews of isps etc, and you'll find that comcast is one of the lowest rated ISPs in the country. Now, if only i could get my dad to switch...

    j
     
  17. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    Re: questions- I\'m ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

    verizon DSL is 1.3meg, thats what i have, and LAN connection speed is 100meg
     
  18. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    Re: questions- I\'m ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

    what do you pay?
     
  19. jac6695

    jac6695 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    Re: questions- I\'m ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

    I have MCI DSL. MUCH faster than dial up. We have the MCI Nieghborhood which is $50.00/month for unlimited local and long distance phone service and added DSL for $35.00/month. Both work real well. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  20. chebywanna

    chebywanna 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Posts:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    streamwood, (chicago)
    Re: questions- I\'m ordering up High Speed Internet, ........anyone?

    i have a formerly AT&T cable, now comcast and it holds its own, it might be just a location thing, but where i am at it houls butt, on the other hand a buddy of mines connection about 15 miles from here is slow in comparison, visibly quite slower.

    for regular use (mostly down loading) cable is better but DSL is close behind, if one does quite a bit of uploading on regular basis i would go with DSL, much faster upload speeds.

    don't remember what mine runs at, but if anyone has a site i would test it.

    i had AOL and never had a problem with pop ups, but junk e mail was a whole different story.
     

Share This Page