Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Questions on CB

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by protechk5, Mar 19, 2007.

  1. protechk5

    protechk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    2,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    Where to a put the ground on antenna? Im using a mirror mount bolted on the inside of my truck bed with a spring then a 4foot firestick. I did a test, and I know the mount it's self is grounded. So do I still need to put a ground on the antenna part too?
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    If your on the metal already , and your bed is grounded to the frame , actually everything grounded to the frame and frame to battery , your probably good if the SWR's check out OK .

    The most important thing is for some metal to be UNDER the antenna , so it has a ground plane .
     
  3. fendereff

    fendereff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aggieland, Texas
    i thought it was real important to ground the antennas, but i had a buddy trying to convince me it didnt matter...what do you say pauly? i thought that the radio may not work properly and may actually damage the radio if it were not grounded. set me straight here...
     
  4. mofugly13

    mofugly13 1 ton bucket of rust Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Posts:
    2,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    If you only key the mike while doing an swr calibration, without talking into the mike, you'll be allright. If you can't dial in the swr, then you'll know you might have a bad ground. The antenna itself does not want to be grounded, only the shield wire from your coax.
     
  5. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
  6. fendereff

    fendereff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aggieland, Texas
    so much good info. thanks pauly. havent powered up my new CB yet, need to get me one of those SWR meters first. is it alright to leave the SWR meter hooked up all the time?
     

Share This Page