Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Quick release doors?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by sageman, Jun 13, 2003.

  1. sageman

    sageman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
    Does anybody have doors that they can take off and put back on in a quick and easy fashion(SP?)
    I will be daily driving this unit and the weather could get nasty here in Canada... so if anyone has a system let me and others know! /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    my door pins are easily removed. I did this so i can swap back/forth between the factory doors and my tube doors. Its pretty simple, you basically just buy some longer-than-stock door hinge pins, cross drill them so u can put a cotter pin through em (so they dont fall out!) and ur set. I welded a washer to the top of my pins so they are easier to remove. Here is a pic at webshots that shows how mine work...

    door pins pic

    j
     
  3. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    There was a pretty in depth thread covering this a couple of weeks ago, do a search... [​IMG]
     
  4. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    yeah, you'll prolly find pretty much the same response and pic from me. /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    j
     
  5. mud390

    mud390 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
  6. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    why do you need that bottom washer?

    are the doors going to fall up?

    i would think just remove the pins, and just stick a piece of metal down the holes....large enough they there is no wobble...and stick a pin in the top and your done?

    why the bottom washer tho
     
  7. gravdigr

    gravdigr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyrone, PA
    I think he uses it as a handle to pull the pin out easier.
     
  8. mud390

    mud390 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    You've got it! The washer is there to make it easier to put the pin in and take it out. More surface to hold on to instead of just the pin itself.

    Kris
     
  9. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    oic
    im going to do this later this summer whenever i get time

    very cool
     
  10. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    other guys nailed it. settling from vibration + the weight of the door can make a door pin pretty dang hard to get out, especially if it hasnt been removed in a while. The washer is super handy, just stick a philips screw driver or pair a pliers in there and you have MUCH more leverage over the pin to yank it.

    j
     
  11. ShitownK5er

    ShitownK5er 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Posts:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shillington Pa
    Yeah i want to remove mine but i have power windows/locks has anyone made or bought a disconnect plug that worked? i tried making one by useing male/female plugs but theyed get all mixed up and turned into a big hassle so i just wired them back together.
     
  12. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    get some of those touching contact pins, they work great /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. mud390

    mud390 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    You might want to look into RC car battery connectors. They are two wires per connector and dummy proof. You might also look into quick release connectors. If I remember right, Summit or Jegs has these. Just a thought.

    Kris
     
  14. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,971
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Trailer plug, just put the side w/ the exposed pins on the door side and the covered ones on the cab side so you dont short things out.
     
  15. Blazn88

    Blazn88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    [ QUOTE ]
    Yeah i want to remove mine but i have power windows/locks has anyone made or bought a disconnect plug that worked? i tried making one by useing male/female plugs but theyed get all mixed up and turned into a big hassle so i just wired them back together.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    go to Summitracing.com and buy some of their Posi-Lock connector. Those things work great. All u do is twist off the ends, put in you wires and fray them out a little and twist the ends back on...
     
  16. SickboySS

    SickboySS 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Posts:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn Ma
    i second the idea about a trailer plug...quick and simple...if you need more wires, they have the flat 5's (4 covered 1 exposed) or how bout just some bullett connectors?
     
  17. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,971
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    As long as your not color blind it would work /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    Realy, yes, no prob the multipin connectors just make hook up simplier.
     

Share This Page