Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Quiet and Wi Fi Question

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by 79Stomper, Jun 5, 2006.

  1. 79Stomper

    79Stomper 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Forest, VA
    Is it just me or has it been awefully a little quiter since Can Can has been back?

    Times like this I enjoy the lounge.


    Now for the question.

    Now I have a Wireless G network (Linksys 2.4 GHz) in my house for about 9 months now. Well I have only been here for 3 or so months during this time. How hard is it to encrypt the signal for my laptop and possibly the desktop? Desktop is still wired but looking for a wireless card for it?
     
  2. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    128 bit WEP is easy to set up. Go to your router settings and use a passphrase to generate the WEP key. Do the same with the same exact passphrase on your computers.

    It's "secure enough" for a home network.
     
  3. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    jagged speaks the truth.


    and converting an already wired desktop to wireless is silly. Might as well convert a k5 to IFS
     
  4. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    10/100 Ethernet is my connection of choice for a home network. Laptops are best suited for the wifi. There's nothing like an intelligently wired home network. I've done a couple, and it's nice, you can even buy cover plates for jacks so you can have phone, cable, and lan connections in the same spot.
     
  5. 79Stomper

    79Stomper 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Forest, VA

    Well the reason I want to do this is so I can eliminate having a cord ran across the floor where everyone who is nto familiar with the house can trip over it and well either bust their head on a 55 gallon fish tank, a 30 gallon fish tank or snatch my modem out of the socket on the wall. Thats the only reason I would do a wireless connection on the desktop, plus in my daughters room so I don't have to run line throughout a house that isn't mine.
     
  6. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    go gigabit


    sissy
     
  7. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    Seriously, though. What desktop hardware can actually maintain a gigabit of throughput? Not necessary. 100 mbit is good enough. Gig-E is cool, but 10/100 is so cheap nowadays.

    Of course if you wanted to be adventurous you could go token-ring ;)
     
  8. docgab

    docgab 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    I agree with Jagged here. I just did this and it is wasy as pie. It's gotta be if I can do it.
     
  9. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    haha 16/4 FOR THE WIN!


    I suppose i'm slightly spoiled dealing in larger office style networks, but everywhere I have implimented gigabit EVERY used has commented on the overall feel of the network being way better.

    that and there's NOTHING like the feeling of moving a DVD's worth of data between pc'd in seconds.
     
  10. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    Seconds? on PC's? These machines must have SCSI or some fast SATA drives. ATA-133 transfers a maximum of 133 MBits/Sec, hardly touching the 1000 MBit/Sec cieling of Gig-E. A motherboard's northbridge and southbridge can only move so fast, and the data bus that a media is attached to is the ultimate limitation. For a home network, which frequently has computers that have a maximum of ATA-133, 10/100 is the cost-effective solution. Until PCI-E and SATA/SCSI become the norm, Gig-E is uneccessary in a home network.
     
  11. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    On a sidenote any "overall feel" of a network being faster is a result of having a faster hub/router configuration. A network only moves as fast as the switches, hubs, and routers can move. If they're all on Gig-E standards, of course their going to move faster than their 10/100 counterparts. I still stand what I stated before; for a home network 10/100 is more than satisfactory.

    But back on topic now, if you want to avoid running Cat-5 all over the house due to non-ownership, 802.11g wireless will be sufficient. If security is your concern, then the 128 bit WEP that is acessible from your router is more than enough for a home network. If you find speed lacking, you can try the 64 bit WEP. It's secure enough to deter the roaming "sniffer" and fast enough not to have much an effect on the overall network.
     
  12. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    who the hell uses ATA-133 drives anymore???? jesus are ya still using steam engines in your 89?!?!?!


    SATA II
     
  13. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    why bother? thats like saying a 305 is plenty for a blazer.

    gigabit stuff is generaly no more expensive than normal 10/100 stuff these days, no reason not to use it.
     
  14. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    I prefer WPA over WEP encryption and MAC filtering is awesome.
     
  15. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    MAC filtering is stellar.
     
  16. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    Until you start MAC cloning :D
     
  17. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    Whats awesome is remote router access and MAC filtering. My gf was using my computer the other day. I logged into my router from work and blocked my own MAC address. She was wiggin out cause the connection kept goin up and down. :haha: :haha:
     
  18. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    true, but its not easy to find a MAC of something behind a router you cant access.

    Harder to get around than WEP anyway
     
  19. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Wow turn a bunch of Computer geeks loose and look out:yikes: . My head is spinning from all the Cloning, Gigs, SCSI/SATA, stuff.:D

    Couple of other things besides setting up a WEP, I thought of that you might want to do to secure your network if you haven't already done so.
    1. Rename your router from its manufacture name (ex)Netgear, Linksys, G link ect. To a name of your choice. Make sure change the name on the the wireless card to the same name that you picked for the router also. If it does not do it automaticly.
    Its best to hide the manufacture of your router cuz It is easier to hack a router if you know what brand it is.

    2. Change your router user name & pass word from its default password (ex) admin. admin. To one of your choice . If someone does hack your system and your router is not password protected they can do anything they want to to it. Like change your settings ECT.

    Both are very easy to do and add more levels of security.

    IMO a WEP is fine for most home networks. But If you live in an apartment complex with a bunch of bored pirates around. A MAC filter is much better.
     

Share This Page