Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

R&P noise...is it okay?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by txbartman, Aug 27, 2001.

1. txbartman

txbartman 1/2 ton status

Okay, here's the deal. This weekend I swapped my rear R&P myself. I put in a set of Yukon 4.56 gears from Randy's R&P. I feel very confident in all the settings including the pattern. But, then again, I have never done this before or seen it done. I also installed a Detroit locker.

I put about 20 miles on it this weekend in small jaunts around the neighborhood and such. This morning it got its first test, a 20 mile trip into work in Dallas highway traffic with speeds ranging from stopped to about 65 MPH.

The gears are making some noise. When first starting out, you can hear them (a little) until I hit about 20 MPH. Then you can't hear them over the sound of the tires. I can also hear them upon deceleration some. They don't clang or anything, just the sound of gears whirring. At highway speeds with the windows up (to prevent wind noise and reduce the sound of the tires) and the radio off and everything as quiet as can be in the truck, I can hear the gears "singing".

Everything I have read says that aftermarket gears will commonly be noisier than OEM gears. I have never been in a vehicle with after-market gears, though, so I don't have a measuring point. I just want to get the butterflies out of my stomach on this one. I have put about 50 miles on her so far, and all I notice is some whining. Is this normal? What's y'all's opinions?

Brian
    Click to see <a target="_blank" href=http://tx85gmcguy.alloffroad.com> My 85 Jimmy </a>
    Who put a stop payment on my reality check?!?

2. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author