Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

R12-R134 Conversion?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Nate87k5, May 30, 2000.

  1. Nate87k5

    Nate87k5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    How hard is it to convert a R12 A/C system to an R134? What all does it involve? Any tips on doing it? Is it worth doing? Can any ol joe do it??? Thanks for any response....
     
  2. BigBadBowTie

    BigBadBowTie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2000
    Posts:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    I did it, and I don't recommend it. You'll need a new compressor, Accumalter/Dryer (sp). Mine doesn't work any way near the way the R12 did. If I could change it back I most definately would.



    Rick
    86 K-5
    http://www.coloradok5.com/RMcPherson.htm
     
  3. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    my big bro had it done last year and his truck is freezinf cold. i borrowed while my truck was down and i couldnt leave it high fan.(i live in tucson)! he had to replace to accumulator and get new valves for the low and high side. if the old system isnt totally drained of oil and freon the 134 will turn to sludge. my a/c is still doing ok but as soon as it quits im changing. i was told to use "ester" (i think)oil bcos its the best there is. good luck!
    creepin and crawlin
    jim
     
  4. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    Some guys say it works great others say it doesn't. The experts say most conversions will work for awhile, but if the compressor, dryer, and hoses aren't changed it will die eventually. Check out the discussions board at this site for more info than you can stand: http://www.aircondition.com

    Michael [​IMG] http://jmartin.net/parker/goose.htm
     
  5. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    I changed mine a year ago when the condenser went bad,just replace the orfice and have the system flushed. Replace all the o-rings for the new R134, then have a vacuum pulled on the system and fill with R134 oil and freon.
    Although the system seems to take a minute or more longer to really start throwing the cold air out, it works quite nicely.

    The kit cost 40.00 or about as much as one pound of R-12

    <font color=green>[​IMG]Eagle86K5[​IMG]<font color=red>
    Masonry...It's a Good Thing
    2B1ASK1
     
  6. bablazer73

    bablazer73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Posts:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    there are a couple of shops around here that are using a replacement called "fr12". nothing needs to be changed. used it in my 78 buick. not ice cold, but alot cheaper than a retrofit kit. don't really know what the fr12 is though.

    your right. I don't understand the jeep thing!
     
  7. CrazeeBush

    CrazeeBush 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Posts:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    A similar product that I've used is "duracool" it's an organic r12 substitute. It's ice cold and completely compatible with r12
     
  8. BigBadBowTie

    BigBadBowTie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2000
    Posts:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Would love to have a discussion with you about your AC retrofit. I also live in Tucson, I had it down in PA. Mine don't work worth a crap here in town

    Rick
    86 K-5
    http://www.coloradok5.com/RMcPherson.htm
     
  9. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    Talked with a gentleman today that is all he does is the changeover, I asked about all these new pseudo R12's and he said to look at the can close, most of these are flammable.
    Hey I think it would be neat to get in to an accident and have a flame thrower under the hood.....duh

    <font color=green>[​IMG]Eagle86K5[​IMG]<font color=red>
    Masonry...It's a Good Thing
    2B1ASK1
     
  10. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    my system is totally drained of R-12, but I can't buy it down here. Should I get a mechanic to change it over to R134? Or does anyone know where I can get R12?

    YEEE HAAWWW[​IMG]
     
  11. CrazeeBush

    CrazeeBush 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Posts:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    That's true, but what isn't dangerous under pressure? From what I've heard it's perfectly safe to use...
     

Share This Page