Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Radiator hose necks

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by RedDwarf, Jul 22, 2002.

  1. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    Ok, this is complicated (I think)....

    I had a 74 truck. The radiator had the "big" upper hose neck (I think it's 1 7/8")

    I swapped trucks, and radiators. The new Rad had a 1.5" upper hose neck on it (I think most of the 81-87 trucks do?)...I had it changed to the bigger size at the Radiator shop....

    Well, I got a new 4 row, BRAND NEW

    It has the 1.5" upper hose neck on it. What do I do? Can I get a new thermostat housing, or do I just need another hose?

    I hate to have them put a different neck on there, it's brand new....

    TIA
     
  2. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    Anyone?

    Did I word it wrong??
     
  3. ol_grayfeather

    ol_grayfeather Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Posts:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Around Spokane, Washington
    What I've seen people do is take a small chunk, about 3" or so, or the smaller hose and put it inside the larger hose. From what I remember the small hose fits perfectly inside the larger one.

    Dan
     
  4. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    thanks, I wondered about that too...reckon it'll leak? Should I put some kind of sealer in there?
     
  5. ol_grayfeather

    ol_grayfeather Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Posts:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Around Spokane, Washington
    I guess if it leaks you could try some silicon sealer but theirs never leaked. Just make sure the hose clamp is snugged up.

    Dan
     
  6. 4x4Freak

    4x4Freak 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Posts:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I really dont see why you couldnt just swap out the thermostat housing, they usually dont cost that much. Go down to the auto parts store and compare a newer one to the one you have.
     
  7. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    Ok, that sounds like a plan.

    Guess I'll do that first.
     

Share This Page