Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ram mount pictures on non hi-steer setups?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Zeus33rd, Jan 3, 2006.

  1. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    Does anyone have pictures of Ram mounts on non hi-steer setups? Perferably NOT off the diff cover. My assist stuff showed up today, I ported/tapped my box a few days ago, so all thats left is to fab some mounts and do the pressure/flow mods to my pump.
     
  2. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Not off the actual diffcover:D

    [​IMG]
     
  3. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Ow and I hope you didnt tap the box like mine. Even after getting new hoses and 90* fittings my tire will rip the upper port right off. I just pulled my box last night to plug it and tap it about 1" above the casting line.
     
  4. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    My box is tapped like this one-
    [​IMG]

    Did it that way because of tire clearance problems. My box already has a shiny spot on it from the tires rubbing.
     
  5. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Yep thats how mine is tapped now.:D
     
  6. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    I snooped around in your AustinK5 gallery and found a few more pictures-
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    What size mounting bolts on the hiems? What material is your tie rod made of? Have ya had any problems with the ram bending the tie rod?

    I'd really rather not mount the ram off the diff cover, but it seems like it may be the only way to get the ram as close to parralell with the tie rod without some huge, goofy lookin mount on the tie rod.
     
  7. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    There 3/4" bolts.
    The tie rod is 1 1/4" Chromo.
    I LOVE the tie rod. It will bend like crazy but as soon as the load is taken off it springs right back to straight. I have rub marks on the diff guard about 4" up from the tie rod being bent and rubbing, but it sprung right back to straight.
     
  8. az-k5

    az-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Here is mine. I wanted to keep it well above the tie rod since I tend to drive by brail.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    My special fluid resivoir, a little fuel neck line and a galvinized barbed/threaded pipe end with cap. Easy to fill easy to check, cheap to do.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    I like how you did the fluid resivoir thing. Way easier to pour fluid into that big ass hole than the tiny one on top of the pump. Where did you get that galvanized piece? Hardware store I assume? It looks like one end is necked down?

    My tie rod is 1 3/8" .188 wall sleeved with 1 5/8" .120 wall. It's been bashed and thrashed to death, still straight.
     
  10. seschev3

    seschev3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    clayton, ca
    Joe, is it necessary to do the mods to the pump? I am assuming you are drilling it out for more flow.
     
  11. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    I don' think it'll be necessary, what I'll prolly end up doing is putting it all together without the pump mods, and drive it around a bit. If I feel the mods are needed, I'll give'em a shot.
     
  12. seschev3

    seschev3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    clayton, ca
    Thats what I was thinking. My parts will be here soon, so I can get started myself. We will have to see if it helps you on the mini con at Blazerfest this year. I was watching some video I took and have most of your run on the con during the poker run.
     
  13. az-k5

    az-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Yep, hardware store. It is a 1.75" barbed/threded cap end. They have them in PVC but I am not sure on the specs for hydro fluid with PVC plastic. I haven't found them yet. If you go this route you will have to drill holes in the top or it will over pressure the system making it puke. I just drilled the top and run a sock over it for now. Later I will plump in a breather but the sock is free and done.
     
  14. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    Do you have any of that video on your computer? I'd love to see it. :)
     
  15. seschev3

    seschev3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    clayton, ca
    I liked this setup with cutting the neck off an old pump and using the factory cap.

    Image17.jpg
     
  16. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    I was thinking of doing that too....Decisions decisions.
     
  17. az-k5

    az-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    That was my original intention but I didn't have an extra pump lying around.
     
  18. seschev3

    seschev3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    clayton, ca
    It is still on hi 8, but I am thinking of burning it to dvd. Have not tried burning to hard drive yet, but probably can figure it out. Let me try and find it.

    after I get it to the puter, how can I post it? Looking for a host.
     
  19. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    Well, you can always use Putfile.com. Or you can just send it to me with Yahoo or AIM. :D Hmmm, I wonder if I still have any of the video I took...
     
  20. seschev3

    seschev3 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    clayton, ca
    Took a little while. My camcorder software wan't working. Had to use Moviemaker. No sound yet either. Here is the link Joe. http://www.putfile.com/seschev3
     

Share This Page