Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ran my rig out of gas. Will not start back up

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 84CUCV, Aug 26, 2004.

  1. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Put 5 gallans in the one tank and cranked it a few times. Didn't get anything back up to the filter by the carb. What the heck am i missing???

    thanks mike
     
  2. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    I'm pretty engine dense but maybe try priming it
     
  3. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    is it a gas motor? If so dump some gas down the carb from a can (soda can). Then try starting it. That is what I do when I run my Jeep out of gas. Don't dump a whole can but just a couple ounces then try to start it. It will probably fire up then keep the throttle open some so the engine idles high and gets the fuel pump pumping again.

    Harley
     
  4. lifethroughdeath

    lifethroughdeath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Bedford, MA
    And if that doesn't work check the fuel pump relay. You should hear it prime/turn on when you turn the ignition on.
     
  5. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    His bio says an 84 so that should be a carb with a mech fuel pump. If it is injected then spray some starting fluid down the throttle bores to help kick it over.

    Harley
     
  6. mountainexplorer

    mountainexplorer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Posts:
    4,903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, Wa./Ione, Wa
    It's possible (if after priming it that it still won't pull fuel up) that some sediment or something in the tank got in the line or clogged up the pick up. If so, you can blow back through the line with air.

    OR... in an even more rare case, you may not have ran out of gas, but your fuel pump could have just gone out. It's happened to me before.
     
  7. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    I will give it a try. Its not the truck in my bio. It is a 1980 3/4 ton 4x4 with a 350.

    thanks mike
     
  8. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    If after all those checks it doesn't start try checking the little fuel filter in the line up by the carb (it would be right where the line bolts to the carb big nut looking thing with a cone screen filter in it) if it has one I had a piece of silicone from somewhere stuck in mine and a buddy found it after I gave up.
     
  9. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Cool thanks I will let you guys know how it goes.


    mike
     
  10. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    OK did it all. nothing worked. I put 100psi in the line and still did not work. Anyother ideas?

    Mike
     
  11. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Not tryin to be a smart arse.. But you said you put it in one tank.. So I am assuming it is a dual tank truck.. Do you have the switch on the right tank..???
     
  12. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    [ QUOTE ]
    Not tryin to be a smart arse.. But you said you put it in one tank.. So I am assuming it is a dual tank truck.. Do you have the switch on the right tank..???


    [/ QUOTE ]

    Maybe that's his problem, he put gas in the LEFT tank but has the switch on the RIGHT TANK. /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif

    Anyhow, yes as Dan said, make sure you have the switch going to the correct tank that you put fuel into. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Its on the right tank. This has got me beat, still cant get it.

    mike
     
  14. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Those switches do go bad.. But some gas in the left tank and switch it over to there..
     
  15. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    i was told on the older switches, that if you run out, it won't switch tanks. not sure how true it is. my 83 switched tanks even when empty. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

    try puting gas in both tanks and try it.
     
  16. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    I will give it a try. thanks
     
  17. dmanblazer

    dmanblazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Posts:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, Kansas
    I just put an engine in my '79 blazer and I couldn't get fuel to the carb. I blew air thru my lines, changed my fuel pump and still nothing. I just put 15 gallons of fuel in the tank so I had fuel. Then I figured it out today, if you have duel tanks make sure your switch is on the correct tank and take the fuel line off the trottle body, take an air hose put the blower nozzle on it wrap a clean rag around it to make it air tight then blow air into the tank, make sure someone is watching the fuel line to tell you if fuel is coming out then stop the air,put the line back on and try to start it. It worked for me.
     
  18. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    our old dually chevy had a fuel pump problem in one tank(88' tbi). it would go out once and awhile, but then work later on.

    once we thought it was broken, couldnt get it to fire. then someone noticed the rocker switch had been kicked and it was stuck in the middle . try flipping the switch back and forth.
     
  19. Jonny-K5

    Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Posts:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    our old dually chevy had a fuel pump problem in one tank(88' tbi). it would go out once and awhile, but then work later on.

    once we thought it was broken, couldnt get it to fire. then someone noticed the rocker switch had been kicked and it was stuck in the middle . try flipping the switch back and forth.
     
  20. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Thanks guys some more stuff to try. Mike
     

Share This Page