Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Really dumb question-spark plug wires

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by lochenjons, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I'm not sure if I'm being dumb or just not used to buying the cheap wires or if it's one of those autozone things or what. But whenever I've bought wires before they clip right on and its good. These wires (duralast I think) only clip on with one side. The other side goes on but is way loose and doesnt really lock in place like it should. Am I supposed to bend them so it locks on the plug or what?
     
  2. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    sounds like you got the wrong wires.
     
  3. 454k30

    454k30 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California, MD
    i bought a set of cheapies once and they didnt clip onto my bosch plugs well. They clipped onto the AC's I replaced those with just fine though. I guess different manufacturers have slightly different sizes for common parts. Anyway I ditched them for a set of MSD's and those things hold very well.
     
  4. Tabb

    Tabb ROLL TIDE! AGAIN! GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,566
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie
    How long are the spark plug boots? Thats the end not clipping on right? you probably got the wrong wires.
     
  5. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Short. I figured they were wrong the first time, so i returned them (this was a long time ago) and now bought different wires again and they looked different but still did the same thing
     
  6. vortec

    vortec 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fort worth, texas
    i had to trim the boots on a universal set of accels, to let the wire seat onto the cap terminal. then, i just gave them a finger squeeze and they've been good for 5 years and over 70K miles.
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Me as well with the Accels. You could get them to clip on by forcing the plug wire against the terminal harder, which bulged the rubber out, but obviously that won't hold.
     
  8. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Its weird though that two different brands from two different stores would be the same way. I guess Ill have to take a plug over there when I buy them.
     
  9. lochenjons

    lochenjons 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Ok I took in a spark plug I had and showed them and now I have the right ones. And just in time too, on my way home later my truck was running really bad and making a clicking ticking noise. A whole lot louder than the exhaust leak I had (it kinda fixed itself) and it barely idles. I pull over and one of the old wires is melted to the header but not bad. I start up the truck and its still making the sound, so since I have a whole box of new wires I decide to replace that one wire for now, but when I look to unplug it from the dist. I notice another wire isnt even connected there :doah:. Plugged that back in and it ran fine.
     

Share This Page