Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rear end Gears and the like

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 82blazercletus, Aug 9, 2003.

1. 82blazercletus

82blazercletus Registered Member

ok I am pretty new to building my own rig, and so far I am enjoying it emensly. I have an 82 K5, 6.2L with 700R4 and 10 bolts front and rear. I am looking at swaping the rear 10 bolt for a 12 bolt that I have aquried,and planing on converting it to disks, what gears should I use in the rear end. Please bear in mind that I know very little about the difference in gears, like 3.10 vs 4.10. Whats good and whats should I expect to leave me out on the trail? /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. SUBFAN

SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

Sit down and make a 'big' plan. Decide what the end result will be, bigger tires, lift, and what not.

Accumulate parts that will fit into that big picture, and go from there.

This 'might' eliminate the need to do some things more than once, thus saving you some money (hopefully) /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. 82blazercletus

Well this is my daily driver, right now my plan is too keep it where its at. 4" Rough Country suspension and 35" mudkings. I am just not too sure on what to put in there or leave whats already there, and just how does some redneck hillbilly (ME) figure out what gears are there if it doesn't say on the dif plate or the glove box?

4. SUBFAN

SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

Best way is to pull the cover and check everything out.

There should be a stamp on the ring gear, and look for the last set of numbers IIRC. divide them and that will give you the ratio. Putting in new gear lube is always a good idea, and if you can stand the smell, then anything you will do to your rig will be easy....