Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rear End Locked Up

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by **DONOTDELETE**, Nov 2, 2001.

I am driving down the street today, and the rear end locks up. Dead stop, not able to roll forward or back. After a tow (on dollies), I get the truck to my house, and open up the rear pumpkin, I find a screw and a couple of broken pieces that look like gear teeth in the casing. There is no visable damage to the ring or pinion, but the locker (Eaton or Auburn-stock) looks like it may be the culprit. I am not sure, as I am a rookie at this. My questions are these, can I replace the locker, or is this rear end toast. It's a 10 bolt, with (argh) 3.08 gears. I am planning on upgradiing to 4.11's this spring. Should I replace the locker and wait on the gears (money IS a factor), or just replace it all now?

God has a hard on for Marines, because we keep Heaven chock full of fresh souls!

1. DesertDueler

DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

I would replace it all at once so you dont have to pay someone twice on the labor of setting up the gears. They will have to reset the gears with a new locker or posi, and then have to do it again if you change the gears. Dont forget that you have to do the front to unless you dont use 4 wheel drive.

86Jimmy 4"&35"MTRs,87 burb 4"&35"MT,69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>