Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rear end replacement in Orlando area

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by scottnj, Aug 4, 2001.

1. scottnj

scottnj 1/2 ton status

Hello. Somehow the bolt broke in my rear differential that held the carrier on. That in turn made a nice mess with the ring gear. I am not good at rear end work. Would like to know where the best place to take it to be fixed in Central Florida.
    I am in the process of looking for a whole replacement to change out though. Either way would be a good option. Thanks
    Scott

2. Brians 60s

Brians 60s 1/2 ton status

what kind of rear axle do you have, is it a blazer? Don't bother rebuilding it. It would probably cost you more than you could find a used one for. Asuming you have a 10 or 12 bolt, and your looking for a cheap way out, the best thing you could do is upgrade to a sf 14 bolt that is still 6 lug. that way you can still keep the wheels and tires while upgrading. If you are really looking for a rear end that won't break very easily, install a 14 bolt ff, the only problem with that is you would need to convert your 10 bolt or 44 in the front to 8 lug or your best bet all around is of course the kick ass 60. All this is assuming you have a half ton chevy of course....Brian

IT'S A 1 TON THING.... IF I HAVE TO EXPLAIN IT, YOU WOULDN'T UNDERSTAND!!!

3. scottnj

scottnj 1/2 ton status

Hi. It is a 1991 Blazer. It has the 10 bolt rear end, stock.
    I dont do any major 4x4'ing these days but I love having my 4x4 if I need it. I want to try to do the least amount of modifications as possible. I was thinking a 12 bolt rear end if I did need to find a different rear end. If I went that route would I have any unforseen problems? driveshaft length, angle or the driveshaif, brakes, etc?