Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

rear wheel bearings

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by gtasteel, Oct 22, 2004.

1. gtasteel

gtasteel Registered Member

I'll spare the gory details.... Long story short I have to replace the rear wheel bearings on my 72 K5 this weekend and I was wondering if they make some kinda sealed bearing upgrade that I can Put in there or am I gonna be stuck packing a new bearing in there? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Thanks for your help! I am new to the K5 game and this place is great thus far! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

Stay safe!

2. jakeslim

jakeslim 1/2 ton status

have fun packing /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

3. gtasteel

so thats a no? /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

4. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Put some grease on them so they don't get messed up when you first drive , but the gear oil does get to them when you turn corners . The stock bearings by a quality company will be fine . The only way I know of to get that kind of bearing is to pony up some dough for Moser c-clip eliminators , and their axleshafts , that kind of cash lifts your truck /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

5. afroman006

afroman006 1/2 ton status

Just FYI, one or both of the bearings in the passenger side hub of my 14 bolt are [censored] right now. They make metal scraping sounds most of the time and vibrate alot of the time too. Just throwin this out there, gonna put new bearings in tomorow. I greased the hell out of them when I rebuilt the axle and that was only 10000 miles ago, how often are you supposed to repack the grease?

6. jakeslim

jakeslim 1/2 ton status