Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rear Window ?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by wayne, May 9, 2001.

  1. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    I just read a post about someone having a problem with their rear window not wanting to go up and down. I have the same problem with mine working when it wants to. I know my moter is good and there is nothing binding. I checked the wires and found I have a short in the gate somewhare. My ? is, I plan to rewire it from the connector under the back of the truck to the moter in the gate, Can I bypass the kill switch on the driver side latch without having and problems? On the other post someone said that switch could be the problem. I think all the switch does is keep the window from going up with the gate open. Thanks.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://jamonline.homestead.com/fromthegroundupK54x4/89Jimmy.html>http://jamonline.homestead.com/fromthegroundupK54x4/89Jimmy.html</A>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails<font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Wayne<font color=blue>
     
  2. Brian 89KBlazer

    Brian 89KBlazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just shove a jumper in the end of the kill switch plug & it'll work fine. Did it with mine with no problems until I got the latches replaced; then I took the jumper back out.

    Brian
    89KBlazer
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Yes you can wire around the switch, just don't EVER let anyone mess with, or use, your truck unless they know about that. Really easy for an unknowing person to break that rear window, thats why the switch is there.


    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  4. bigblue

    bigblue 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2000
    Posts:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    southern california
    Take off the cable and see if the motor spins. If it does then I would think that iit is your cable. I just replaced the cable and now she works like new! later

    [​IMG]
     
  5. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Cable is fine. I know it is the wire or the dummy switch. I just wanted to make sure I could bypass it. Thanks for the info.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://jamonline.homestead.com/fromthegroundupK54x4/89Jimmy.html>http://jamonline.homestead.com/fromthegroundupK54x4/89Jimmy.html</A>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails<font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Wayne<font color=blue>
     
  6. flcpl4fn

    flcpl4fn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    Posts:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I guess someone already did something to the kill switch on mine. I can open the tail gate and raise the window. It 's nice to be able to do, to cleam the window with out having to climb inside.

    '85 Jimmy in Jax, Fl
     

Share This Page