Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rebuild a NP208 myself and other ?'s

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Hathaway, Apr 19, 2001.

1. Hathaway

Hathaway 1/2 ton status

Rebuild a NP208 myself and other ?\'s

Well I checked my shift linkage. Everything seems to be normal. So I'm guessing the bushings are bad and thats why it won't stay in 4hi. My question, could I rebuild the tcase myself? I'm an ok backyard mechanic and my dad and uncle are alot better than me. I'm not planning on doing anything special to the Tcase, no changing the gearing or anything. Just wanna know if I can buy a kit or something with all the bushings and whatever I'd need to rebuild it.

On a side note, I've got a 305 V8. There isn't really anything wrong with it so I can't justfy a 350 swap. What can I do to a 305? I'm assuming they can be bored out? How big can they be bored over? I'm pretty much in the dark when it comes to boring/stroking/blah blah What about a new cam/exhaust manifold/carb/headers/exhaust? Would doing a rebuild on the engine be worth it? I'm not planning to go with huge tires on this thing. And most of my driving is on the street. I'm more looking for a way to bump the ponies up a bit so I can get some passing power and a bit better off road umph. I never tow anything so thats not an issue. Thanks for any tips on the engine or the Tcase

Dan, '86 K5, 5.0L v8, NP208, TH700R4, open 10bolts front and rear, 3.43gearing, K&N filter, 31x10.50R15 Trailhandlers

2. jimmyjack

jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

Re: Rebuild a NP208 myself and other ?\'s