Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rebuild for 205 and 203

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by MaxCrack, Oct 26, 2001.

  1. MaxCrack

    MaxCrack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Posts:
    895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mt View, CA
    I have a 203 in the truck which I am planning to mate with the F@rd 205 I have in the garage via a custom doubler when I have money again.

    I have a few questions about rebuilding them since I have to take the 203 apart anyway, I figure I might as well take em both apart and put new bearings and seals in them.

    1. Do you have or know of a place where I can get a kit with all the bearings and seals for a 205 and a 203?

    1.a. Or just part numbers so I can get them all at once and make my own kit
    (I do not need any of the stuff for the chain part of the 203 since I won't be using it)

    2. Can I put the rear output from a Chevy 205 in a F@rd 205?
    (The F@rd has a slip yoke rear output that I want to eliminate and I have the rear output from a Chevy 205)

    A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
    <a target="_blank" href=http://photos.yahoo.com/dana60manual>http://photos.yahoo.com/dana60manual</a>
     
  2. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    We have a 203 range box rebuild for $120 and a 205 rebuild for $190.00. With these two and the Doubler kit you should have it all covered. The GM output housing will fit on the ford and may work better anyway since it will let you use a GM speedo cable.

    Making the world better, one truck at a time.
    SW-ORD
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.offroaddesign.com>www.offroaddesign.com</a>
     
  3. RGF

    RGF 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Posts:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    I know that the rear output shaft/seal housing from a GM 205 will swap with the Ford 205 but there could be a problem with putting the cast housing that holds the speedo stuff from GM to Ford.

    A few months ago when I was overhauling a Ford 205 for the custom GM/Ford Doubler you made for me I had planned on using the GM cast housing until I went to assemble it and realized that the rotation put the vent just about on the bottom and possibly below the oil level.
    Also there may be an issue with the way that rear bearing gets its oil supply with the oil hole in a different spot now.
    I suppose you could plug the vent and relocate it on top and maybe add another oil hole in the housing but I ended up just using the Ford housing and will have to deal with the speedo later unless theres something I`m missing which is very possible!!!

    RGF
     
  4. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    This is stuff you will need to address. I know we used a GM housing on my ford 205, and the vent was an issue (we plugged and re-drilled) , but I don't remember what we did with the oil. I know it oils just fine, it pumped a full case worth of oil out the rear output when I ruined the output seal! The speedo gear thing probably isn't a big deal since you can get speedo cables in about any length and configuration from a parts store.

    Making the world better, one truck at a time.
    SW-ORD
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.offroaddesign.com>www.offroaddesign.com</a>
     
  5. MaxCrack

    MaxCrack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Posts:
    895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mt View, CA
    Right on. Now I have to get that damn Dana 60 back together and in the truck and save up enough money for the rebuild kits and doubler. Then I'm set.

    Thank you very much guys,
    Mike

    A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
    <a target="_blank" href=http://photos.yahoo.com/dana60manual>http://photos.yahoo.com/dana60manual</a>
     

Share This Page