Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

rebuilding a tranny

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 69K5, Dec 5, 2002.

1. 69K5

69K5 1/2 ton status

title says it. how hard is to rebuild a tranny? its a th350. it wont leave second even with fluid. i was thinking about trying it myself. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif its how i did my first motor at 14. i took it apart and 3 months later it cranked. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif lotta books and wasted effort. now i can do it in 2-3 days if the machine shop isnt slow. i am driving my car for now so time is not an issue. afetr this i want to learn to swap gears. im just an average shadetree mechanic, but i probably have 90 % of the tools i guess i'll need.
    i probably will do the 205 also if i do this

any opinions.

69K5
    nathan

2. fortcollinsram

fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

I think you may need a few special tools for the 350..I know with the 700r4, you need a special tool to compress the cluch packs in the drub whil you install the snaprings...but I am unsure...there is a company called Technical Video, IIRC, that makes step-by-step videos to rebuilding trannies, t-case, diffs, etc...I bout the 700r4 vid from them when I was planning on doing it myself....but I swapped to a manual instead...

Yes, it can be done and the 350 is a bunch easier than a 700...but I am unsure what tools you need...

Chris

3. 69K5

69K5 1/2 ton status

i saw some videos in the library i thought about. is there a way to add an overdrive to a th350? i dont want a 700 r4 and cant find a th400.

i plan on running 4.10's

thanks

nathan

4. hardcore71

hardcore71 Registered Member