Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rebuilding Quadrajet

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Bear Creek, Aug 10, 2001.

1. Bear Creek

Bear Creek Registered Member

After looking over past post I think its time to rebuild my carb. Idle is fine. Hesitates on take off unless you go slow and smells rich. After you reach 20 or so it accellarates OK. I have not tryed doing a rebuild before, does a kit come with floats and other mechanical parts or just gaskets? Any thing I need to know about adjusting it? Local shop wants $120 plus kit, would I be better paying to get it done? I have been doing maintance in plants for 20 years, but never messed much with cars.

2. Mreetz

Mreetz 1/2 ton status

I rebuilt mine myself, if you follow the directions and keep all the parts together, you should be ok. Some kits do come with a new float.

1984 K-5
    4" lift
    35x12.5 MTs
    buildin a 400 for it, any info greatly appreciated

3. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

Current or last month's (sept 2001) issue of Four Wheeler has an article on rebuilding a Q-jet, looks pretty easy. I've never done one myself, but it looks pretty simple. I have a couple in my garage and was thinking about attempting to rebuild one just to try it (inspired by the article).
    I think the kit comes just with gaskets, a ball, and needle seat (?), but I've never done it so I don't know.
    What the heck, go for it. I think the kit's around $30 or so.

Ratch
    <a target="_blank" href=http://k5.8m.com>k5.8m.com</a>
    **Your ad here**

4. txbartman

txbartman 1/2 ton status

Go to My 85 Jimmy
    PM me for a great deal on blinker fluid! Best price on the net!

5. Chaz316

Chaz316 1/2 ton status