Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

regearing a 10 bolt

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by jacksprat1599, Sep 10, 2004.

1. jacksprat1599

jacksprat1599 Registered Member

I have an 89 suburban that I would like to put 35s on.Through reading the posts here it sounds like I want to go with 4.88's.My plan is to find a junkyard 10 bolt from an 89 thru 91 truck so I can stay 30 spline with the axles and do the gears myself.I have never done gears before so thats why I want to try setting up new gears on an axle that I don't need back in service right away.Does anyone no of a good book or manual that covers gear instalation,preferably on GM axles? What brand of gears do you guys recommend? Am I getting in over my head on this one?Any help would be greatly appreiciated,I have learned alot from readig all you fellas posts.I know some guys are going to say go 14 bolt, but I really don't need it.My truck is 98% pavement and my offroading is mainly just camping but the tires would be nice to keep my Burbs butt out of the dirt.Besides do you really need a reason to want a lift and bigger tires?

2. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

Re: re geraring a 10 bolt

You're getting in over your head. I would attempt my own gears, but I wouldn't suggest it to a person who isn't really into this stuff.

3. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

I have become a 1/2 ton guy , and would reccomend that for a Blazer on 35's , but in your case with a Heavy Sub , I would get a 14bsf or 14bff .

The only reason I would say this is because my buddies 10 bolt 30 spline axle , on 31's , bent off road and soon wore his bearings out .

I would say do it if you have a K5 and run 35's but not in a Sub /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif