Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Relays

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by blazerpro79, Jun 1, 2005.

  1. blazerpro79

    blazerpro79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    how do you wire a relay? when i bought my lights and fan they never came with any info on relay wiring or even a relay. many people advised me to wire them through a relay, so i bought a few, can someone tell me where each of the 3 wires go? thanks in advance
     
  2. xtrmjoe

    xtrmjoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boonville, CA
    This is the diagram I used for my rock lights, elec lockers, etc.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. blazerpro79

    blazerpro79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    nice diagram! but i have a question

    why does 30 go to the battery, and 85 goes to a power source too?
     
  4. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    30 is your high amp contoleed power
    85 is your low amp control power

    When power is applied to 85, then the coil is energised, then the contacts close providing a path for the power across 30 to 87.
     
  5. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Think of it this way.
    Power to the 85 terminal "turns on" the relay allowing high currant flow from term 30 to the 87 term.which in turn powers whatever the relay is connected to.
     
  6. Blazr77400

    Blazr77400 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Posts:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ogden, UTAH
  7. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    Wiring for that relay setup - I think I used 12 gauge for the batt-relay-lights run, 14 or 16 gauge for the switch run.
     
  8. blazerpro79

    blazerpro79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    ok makes sense thanks a lot! hopefully today will clear up and i can go drop them in.

    another quick question, some relays have an 87 and 87a. does that mean you can connect 2 separate objects together? i.e. 2 separate sets of lights?
     
  9. rpellicer

    rpellicer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Susanville, CA
    87 is hot when 85 is has power, 87a is hot when 85 doesn't have power. There are some relays (DPST I think) that have two 87 terminals rather than an 87 and 87a. These can run two outputs at a time.
     
  10. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA

Share This Page