Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

remote start w/carb

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by tecton, Oct 1, 2003.

  1. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    is this possible?

    sometimes i turn the key and she fires right up, other times i gotta ease on the gas....but has anyone done this successfully?
     
  2. Bone85K5

    Bone85K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Georgia
    not ever reccommended...I have one on my tahoe. Requires extensive electrical mods...mine will

    -crank on/off with remote
    -stay on for 12 or 30 or 60 mins then cut off
    -will cut off if u hit the brakes, rev the motor b4 you turn key
    -can keep truck runnin, take key out, arm alarm leave truck
     
  3. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    They work on a motor that will fire up without peddle assistance, A friend of mine has it on his carbed 355. They aren't that hard to wire, supposedly.
     
  4. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    I'd think they would work on electric choke carbs.
     
  5. scrappy88

    scrappy88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    All the carbs I've worked on require a little throttle to close the choke and set the choke cam, so that wouldn't work.

    I have a Viper 2way remote start alarm but haven't installed it. After looking through the instructions I decided to not bother with the remote start feature. It requires a lot of wiring splices, like fuel pump, ignition, ECM, ac controls (optional), and other stuff that I'd rather not chop up.
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Just solder your wires. I've installed remote starts before and I never have done it any other way.
     
  7. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    In the winter (when you'd probably most like to use it!) you'll find that the engine won't start. Every carb I've ever had required that you push the throttle to set the choke, then you crank it over. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    EFI just senses the engine temp and adds more fuel to simulate the correct amount of choke for the conditions. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  8. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    what about setting your idle up a bit to compensate?
     
  9. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    That will not set the choke, nor will it make the accelerator pump shoot any gas down the intake to get the engine to start.

    Remote starters are not for carburated vehicles.
     
  10. chillywilly

    chillywilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    northern maine
    since most remote starters include a door lock button for electrics lock. Ive thought about using it to run an actuator mounted to the carb. Something like an idle kicker from a computer controlled carb. Push lock button and this would pump the linkage. I never tried it ,bought a fuel injected dd. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     

Share This Page