Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

REplacement dash and gauges for K5

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by SC-Texas, Oct 27, 2006.

  1. SC-Texas

    SC-Texas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    How do you replace the dsh and guages on a K5?

    I have seen photos of several dashs with Tach and full guage sets.

    I would like to do thiswith my K5.

    Any ideas, suggestions or warnings from someone who has done this?


    [​IMG]
     
  2. SC-Texas

    SC-Texas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  3. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Thats me... :o

    There are many, many threads on this.. this is an occasion where I'd suggest some searching, it'll bring up alot... :D

    here's a link to my original posting on the dash with some info in it....

    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138074&highlight=dash+pics

    What I will tell you is the main difference between mine and most you'll see is mine maintains the proper gauge face angle... Flat panel ones tend to point at your belly, not a big deal for some, but I REALLY wanted them pointing at me...

    This was a time consuming project using specialized materials, tho I'm certain a tigged up aluminum one would be sweet too...

    Any questions on it, just ask, alot is answered in that link too...

    BTW, thanks for digging it, I'm very pleased with it and am stoked someone thinks it's cool.... :bow:
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2006
  4. GotLabs

    GotLabs 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Transient, USA
    I have this, came with 2 1/16th and 3 3/8ths gauges. The bottom part only that is, if you are interested.

    gage panel apart.jpg
     
  5. Chevy305

    Chevy305 6 Lug 14bsf Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    11,232
    Likes Received:
    491
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    My truck came with the idiot lights and no guages so here is no solution:

    Car Pictures 006.jpg

    Car Pictures 009.jpg

    Truckin 005.jpg

    The smaller guages are temp, and oil pres. and are both 2 1/16. The oil pressure is some knock off gauge that almost resembles stock gauges it came with the truck and was siting on top of the dash so I put in the dash. The temp gauge is a sunpro and a little inacurate or my cooling system is way over kill. The best part is that I had to do no modifacations to the dashand I can angle the gauges too.

    I plan on keeping the 2 bottom idiot lights for my e-brake and battery lights. But I plan on replacing the 2 smaller gauges with autometer ones, and getting an autometer electric speedo so I can calibrate it. I will get a 3 3/8 speedo so I can recess it into the dash like the other gauges. Also soon I will get an autometer tach because I am now on my 4th sunpro tach after burning out 3 of them with in 6 months :angry1:. I'd also like to get a volt gauge. I might put that in the space where I have those switches for my accessaries.

    Car Pictures 006.jpg

    Car Pictures 009.jpg

    Truckin 005.jpg
     
  6. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    i used a biullet aluminum piece from trenz.... cut out the back of stock housing.. mounted the gauges to the aluminum piece.. mounted that into stock piece into dash.....
     

Share This Page