Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

replacing a 350 for a diesel

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by rpm35, Oct 27, 2003.

  1. rpm35

    rpm35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, MT
    I have a 91 jimmy with a tbi350 in it. I am very interested with the idea of putting a diesel in it. What goes into a gaser to diesel swap. What engine would give me good power with and longevity?
     
  2. BlueBlazer

    BlueBlazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Posts:
    1,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be easier to sell yours and get one with a diesel IMHO.
     
  3. OFFRDK5

    OFFRDK5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central IL
    For once BlueBlazer n I agree. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gifGawd, what's this world coming to!!
     
  4. rpm35

    rpm35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, MT
    That sucks I have all ready put soo much time and money into it.
     
  5. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Rene (TrustyK5) just did this swap, ask him his opinion. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,175
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    LOL, I asked this same question last year, got the same answer too. So I did the swap anyways./forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Step one...find a complete running donor truck. A 6.2 on a pallet ain't gonna do it.

    It was a ton of work and it took us a long time but eventually we had the 6.2 in there and it ended up being a pretty clean swap. I think you'd be hard pressed to know it wasn't an original 6.2 truck now.

    I swapped the entire underdash harness as well as the engine bay harness as well so I wouldn't have butchered wiring anywhere...plus I also have the correct fuel gauge, Glow plug light etc on the dash (robbed the cluster too)

    It does all bolt up, but almost everything forward of the firewall gets changed. Rad, brake booster etc.

    You'll need the proper diesel convertor anf flex plate to bolt it up to your 700R-4 too.

    I like my 6.2 just fine for power, and even without overdrive and running on 40's it managed a steady 16.2 mpg on the drive to and from Moab UT recently.

    Rene
     
  7. rpm35

    rpm35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, MT
    Would it be possible to drop in a 6.5 instead of a 6.2. Or would the cost be more than the benifit.
     
  8. bigblock454

    bigblock454 Clack Clack Clack Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Terre Haute IN
    A 6.5 will fit fine is you don't have AC, the turbo interfears with the AC box on the firewall.
     

Share This Page