Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

replacing gm 10 bolt need suggestions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 79ON40s, Jan 7, 2007.

1. 79ON40s

79ON40s Registered Member

hey guys i am new to chevys. i picked one up cheap and i am ready to start building it up. it is a 79 k10 short bed with a 4" susp and a 3" body. the truck is pretty rough shape. it has a 12 bolt in the rear and a 10 bolt in the front. i know the 10 bolt will not last long, any suggestions on which one to swap it with? thanks

2. BigEasy

BigEasy 1/2 ton status

The 10B will probably outlast that 12B. Doing a search (highly recommended before you post, as most info is easily found) would reveal the ultimate bolt-in beef is Dana 60 front and 14BFF rear. What size tires do you plan to run and what are you intending to use your rig for?

3. Chrisblazzer89

Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

HE cant do a search hes not a paying member.

I suggest u become a paying member its only 25 bucks and its really worth it if ur gonna build up ur truck.

4. cbbr

cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

Yep, knowing your tire size and intended use will make this question a lot easier to answer.

5. mxfireman

mxfireman 1/2 ton status

We could help you a little better if you told us what your truck specs are or are going to be and what type of driver you are and what type of terrain your going to be driving in.

I would also suggest becoming a member. Tons of info inside could really help you out.

6. 79ON40s

i am running interco 39.5x15-15 tires. i have done some research about warn axles and ox u joints, just wanted some input from some folk that know. i will join i dont mind paying just kinda checking the forum out. i am coming over from toyotas and any input is appriciated.

7. cbbr

cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner