Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Replacing Hyd. Lifter w/o Replacing Cam?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by seattlek5, Dec 7, 2002.

1. seattlek5

seattlek5 1/2 ton status

Can I replace the lifters in my rig without replacing the cam? I have an intake lifter that collapsed on the way home today. the engine is a fresh 383 that wasn't built by me. I'm just not sure if I want to or can afford to replace the cam right now. I know that if I decide to replace the cam later, I'll have to buy lifters again at that time. Can I replace just the bad one now? Thanks for the info! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

2. unsane

unsane Guest

Sounds risky unless the motor isnt realy broken in yet....but im no rocket scientist...Anyone else?

3. seattlek5

seattlek5 1/2 ton status

Not sure on the mileage, I think it's less than 5000 since it was built.

4. rockink5

rockink5 1/2 ton status

Sure. You can put new lifters on a used cam, but shouldn't put old lifters on a new cam.

5. Lonnie

Lonnie 1/2 ton status

It is relatively rare that a lifter goes bad. Usually it wipes the cam lobe causing the tapping noise/bad performance & lack of valve lift. If there are any grooves/marks in the bottom of the lifter when you remove it, the the cam is junk & the next lifter will go even faster.
    Best of luck.
    Lonnie

6. seattlek5

seattlek5 1/2 ton status

I'm going to tear it down in the morning and see what's going on. When I checked it by pushing on the push rod, it feels like the lifter is just a spring with no hyd. resistance. The motor has been running great and just started running bad in the last 5-10 miles. I report what I found Sunday afternoon.

7. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

8. Blazer1970

Blazer1970 1/2 ton status