Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Replacing MOTOR MOUNTS

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by wadinator, Nov 18, 2003.

1. wadinator

wadinator 1/2 ton status

Hey all....

I gotta replace the motor mounts on my 87 1/2tn Suburban with a 350tbi. I've never done this before, so I'm looking for pointers.

I'll be lifting the motor using a floor jack on the harmonic balancer. My bro-in-law said to wedge a block between the oil pan and the frame in case the jack lets go. After the motor is lifted and braced, it should be pretty easy.

Am I missing anything? Thanks! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

2. azblazor

azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Wade,
    I have done it this way essentially. Just be careful and gently take the weight off of the mounts as you remove the engine mount bolts. I would put some wood between the pan and jack rather than use the harmonic balancer. You can do it with out damaging the pan. I am leery of putting the weight of the engine on the harmonic balancer. I'm sure there are other opinions though.

3. wadinator

wadinator 1/2 ton status

I was just told the same thing elsewhere.

Seriously? The oil pan will be able to take that much weight? I'll gladly go that route, cuz I'm afraid of bending the crankshaft or something by jacking on the harmonic balancer.

4. Sandman

Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

I used a floor jack and a 4x4 to the oil pan when I did my mounts. It seemed to work fine.

5. wadinator

wadinator 1/2 ton status

[ QUOTE ]
    I used a floor jack and a 4x4 to the oil pan when I did my mounts. It seemed to work fine.

[/ QUOTE ]

Alrighty. Maybe this is the way to do it then. Did you have some sort of backup, to prevent your hands from getting crushed in case the jack lets go?

6. Sandman

Sandman 3/4 ton status Author