Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Replacing the heads on my 350... question

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Dave_S, Mar 30, 2002.

1. Dave_S

Dave_S Registered Member

I've cleared out everything around the heads (intake/exaust manifolds are off) and am getting ready to start removing the heads. Since I've never done this before, I'm not quite sure exactly how this should be done.

Seems to me I'd want to take out the rods and then break the heads loose in reverse torque order then remove all bolts and take off the head.

What isn't really clear to me is the best way to remove the rods. Do I have to take the rockers off? Or can I just rotate them.. and if I can... what happens to the spring on the other side.

Dave

2. 69K5

69K5 1/2 ton status

Since you are just taking it off. Just take out the bolts it doesnt matter which order. When you put it back on follow the torque order. Whenever you undo the bolts just lift it up and the rods will still be in the block. There will be no reaction from the spring. hen take it to your machinshop and get them to do your heads/ valve jobs. If you want to take off the nut holding on the rocker. i think its 9/16. you will only be able to get tio certain ones because of the position of the cam and lobes.

hope it helps

nathan

3. Dave_S

Dave_S Registered Member

I was worried that leaving the rods in place may run the risk of bending them when I put the new heads on. I take it this isn't that much of a concern?

Dave

4. 69K5

69K5 1/2 ton status

you'll just need two people . one to guide the head and one to guide the rods.

nathan

5. chevyracing

chevyracing 1/2 ton status