Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

"Restoring" a 1979 K5 Blazer... Need some Help

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by m1ndless, Feb 18, 2007.

1. m1ndless

m1ndless Banned

Hello, first off let me say.. AWESOME FORUM... I found alot of answers so far. I am new to the k5 and the off roading/4x4 community as well, I used to be the typical teenager in a little zippy honda, but f that. :D

I just bought a 1979 k5, from what the previous owner told me, they put a new motor in about 2 years ago, no idea what motor or anything, the lady was clueless. THe engine is REALLY dirty from all the times they took it out to the lake. Anyways, what she did know is it had a 6inch lift. It is pretty much stock besides the motor and the lift from what I can see... She sold this to me for $1000 and a case of beer. :haha:

I am looking to put 500-1500 into it over the next few months.

I am mainly going to be using it for taking my quad out to the lake, maybe a little romping/off roading, but nothing too serious (yet).

What should I do to it first? It has 32'' tires, I was thinking maybe some 38"s? Or should I focus more on suspension or something?

EDIT - Also, I am kinda a noob when it comes to engines, but I noticed where the air filter usually goes (on top of the carb right?) that whole thing isnt there, no filter or the thing that holds the filter, she said it came like that from the person they bought it from, it ran fine, but I am thinking she might have got alot of dirt in the engine? Should I swing by a junkyard or something to get that part?

THANKS!

2. MattK

MattK 1/2 ton status

First off, welcome!