Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rim Backspacing????

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by K5on38s, Dec 28, 2002.

1. K5on38s

K5on38s Registered Member

i just put a 14b FF in my blazer and and now im buying rims... what is the lug pattern? and backspacing im lookin for? i need front and rear.... im an unedjumucated newbie im assuming
    Front- gm Corp 10b
    Bolt Pattern-6x5.5
    Back Spacing-4

Rear - 14 bolt gm corp:
    Bolt Pattern-8X6.5
    Back Spacing-4.25

2. BorregoK5

BorregoK5 1/2 ton status

That looks right, depending on how wide or in this case narrow your 14 bolt is compared to your front axle , you could run 4" backspacing on the rear to true up the trac width.

3. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

> i just put a 14b FF in my blazer and and now im buying
    > rims... what is the lug pattern?

ff14b's are generally 8 lug... as far as I know there is only one 8 lug pattern.

> and backspacing im lookin for?

now it gets hairy and it may depend more on what you have for a front axle. Right now I have a D60 front... because I am running 15" rims, I try to keep the backspacing as low as possible, so I wont have to grind as much. If you still have your 10b in there, I dont think you would have to worry about what backspacing your rims have, anything from 3.25-4.25" would work fine. AFAIK, there are no problems with any 15" or larger rim of any backspacing fitting over the drums of a ff14... so thats not really a factor. You may consider lower backspacing though, if someday you want to upgrade to a 1-ton front end too.

> i need front and rear.... im an unedjumucated newbie im
    > assuming
    > Front- gm Corp 10b
    > Bolt Pattern-6x5.5
    > Back Spacing-4
    >
    > Rear - 14 bolt gm corp: