Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rock Ram or/and Crossover Steering (which or both)

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by azblazor, Aug 28, 2001.

  1. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    My front end is apart. I have bad cracks (missing pieces) on frame at steering gear, steering gear is leaking badly.

    I am repairing cracks, welding on a "weld repair kit" and installing a bolt on steering brace (ORD).

    I am going to install either or both Crossover Steering and a Rock Ram with a Rock Rod. I am going to spend money this week.

    Who has one or the other?? Would really like to hear from people who have only the rock ram. Opinions?

    If I put a rock ram on do I really need crossover steering? Won't the rock ram solve the loss of steering ability when flexed?

    Does anybody have just the rock ram and are they satisfied with it to the point of not needing or wanting crossover steering??

    I'm not real happy about having to remove the front sway bar for the crossover steering, I guess that is my major point.

    How many people are running without a sway bars???
    Can you still haul trailers at highway speeds??

    I have a D60 up front with 4" lift, and am running 33s going to 37s.

    <font color=blue>azblazor</font color=blue>
    <font color=orange> 79 K5 454-FI / 4L80E, NP205, D60, FF14, 4" lift, 9K Warn </font color=orange>
     
  2. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Cross over is required for a rock ram setup, the cross over helps solve geometry problems. With 33's, I'd suggest running just a crossover, if you really feel the need later you can get the ram. Are you rockcrawling, and are you locked in the front? Both will increase the need for the ram w/ the 37s.

    Loosing the sway bar isn't too bad, I haven't had one for years. Kind of like driving w/a locker, you get used to it.

    Pete

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     
  3. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Well,

    I'm running the Ram, but WITH the crossover. You're probably going to end up wanting to do it in the future, so do it all at once. I guess even if the ram would solve the loss of steering when the driver side is rocked, you still lose a lot right turn without the crossover. Am I making sense?

    I guess if I had to choose between the RAM or Crossover, I would put my $$ with the Crossover setup First. Ram can wait.

    Anyhow, my suggestion is not to get the Rock Ram from AGR. Many other places can tap the box for you and sell you the ram and hoses and fittings for a lot less. Plus, AGR service really blows and this was a huge discussion on the Pirate Board recently. This is what I wrote (and yes, I really went through this and still am):

    Ok, I got screwed pretty bad from AGR as well. I've said this before and I will say it now, their service really blows!!

    OK, here is what I went through.

    Ordered the Rock Ram for my 89' Blaze (O-ring fitting style) back in March of 01'.
    Got sent an O-ring fitting style pump and a Flare Fitting style Box....for those that know, that won't work with my brand new O-ring style PS hose I bought months earlier and installed (so I couldn't return it).
    I had everything installed too. The box, the pump, the ram, the hoses, etc. And no, I didn't check to see before hand b/c I was re-using my PS hose that was already on the truck.

    I called them up and said what's the deal here....they told me they messed up and will "OverNight" me the fitting to change on the back of my PS pump to "Flared fitting style". No biggie I say.
    Next day...NOTHING :( (Keep in mind, this is my daily driver/wheeler and I need it on the road to go to work)
    I called and said, what's the deal. They said, Oh, we forgot b/c it's such a small part. I was like :confused: , so I said, no biggie, send overnight today!! They said they would.
    Next day, Again, NOTHING!!! :mad:
    I called and said, hey, you forgot the day before and now you forgot again???
    They said, yes, we forgot again, sorry....we'll send overnight today, promise....Now, I'm getting really :mad2:
    Next day...NOTHING!!!!!!
    I called and said what the F!!!! :flipoff: Again, they said they forgot and finally freakin sent it!!

    Ok, so I got it, and went out and bought a new Flared fitting style hose (tried to exchange my O-ring hose for it since it was new, but they wouldn't let).

    I put the damn fitting on (while the pump was on my truck (really hard to do this, just didn't want to take the pump off again), well, big mistake. I riped the O-ring. So, I took the pump off the truck, removed the pump from the reservoir and bought a new O-ring to put on. Now, put the thing back on the truck.
    Finally crank the sucker up and did the whole bleeding thing for hours, etc.
    Box runs super hot....I wasn't sure why.....

    Then come to figure out my RAM was LEAKING!!!! I didn't want to call them anymore.....
    Anyhow, I called and told them the deal, they said that's possible, send it back and we will fix it that day and ship back overnight immediately. They said it will only take 2 hours to fix. Well, I payed for shipping (no biggie) Sent it to them they recieved it, couldn't figure out the problem (in not 2 hours but) 5 DAYSS!!! They finally sent it back saying it was all good. I put the thing on...it's not leaking anymore :) Finally, it was over.....so I thought.

    Pump and box runs super hot and have been for a longggg time...I just ignored the fact and put up with the pukage problems, etc. I called them once and asked if it was normal and they said YES!!!
    OKayyyyy!! :rolleyes: And yes, I did put a cooler on, 4 row, but small (perma cool)

    Well, steering aint all that with the SuperBox II...I've been fighting with the wheel everytime I go wheelin' (especially when it get's hot) (this isn't suppose to happen with Hydro Assist steering!!!, it's suppose to be smooth, turn no matter what, etc.)
    I got fed up with the SBII and didn't want the thought in my head that I payed major $$$ for this setup to be fighting with the wheel all the time.
    So, I called up AGR 2 weeks ago and requested the SB I.
    They said they will ship out immediately at my expense. No biggie.
    Today....they still have not sent it yet.


    Sooooo, as you can see, I'm having some major probs with them as well!!

    I'm waiting to get the SB I, so I can put a larger cooler on and also put a remote reservoir setup on as well.....Hopefully those things will help keep this "It's suppose to run hot :rolleyes: " item cooler. Good luck
    Boss



    Pic of my truck Before N' After
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter</a>
     
  4. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Oh yeah, No sway bar is not a big deal. I barely notice it.
    Boss

    Pic of my truck Before N' After
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter</a>
     
  5. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,625
    Likes Received:
    702
    Location:
    CO
    Shawn ordered an AGR box for his Cyclone and they sent the wrong one, it just happened to be one for a Blazer so I said, hey I am doing cross-over tomorrow so I will buy it from you. So after I get the cross-over installed the brand new box leaks, so I am exchanging it for a Super box I ram box, still has not come in yet. I just hope it doesn't leak like the old one.

    Steve

    Bandwidth FREE ZONE

    Mall-Running poseur 4x4 with curb-feelers
     
  6. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Steve,

    You need to call AGR and make sure they sent your box out. If not, they will forget...serious. Like I said, they were suppose to ship mine two weeks ago. They haven't yet. I'm going to call again.......we're not the only ones getting the bad service either. Good luck.
    Boss

    Pic of my truck Before N' After
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter</a>
     
  7. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,625
    Likes Received:
    702
    Location:
    CO
    Will do, do you think I really need their pump?

    Steve

    Bandwidth FREE ZONE

    Mall-Running poseur 4x4 with curb-feelers
     
  8. BIGJ

    BIGJ 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    For what you pay to get the box, you'd think it wouldn't leak. No way will I get anything from AGR now. This guy has had quite a bit of good comments <a target="_blank" href=http://westtexasoffroad.homestead.com/index.html>http://westtexasoffroad.homestead.com/index.html</a> from the guys on the pirate board. Plus for $450 it's a STEAL! That's what I'm going to get. Just my .02


    BIGJ
     
  9. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Personally, I don't think their pump is all that....I think it helps/make everything else run hot. Plus, they'll probably send you a "Flared Fitting" style....just exactly the opposite of what you need [​IMG]

    If you do get one though, you'll have to be very careful when you remove your old pump off the reservoir. The reservoir is very thin and can easily bend/rip up. Make sure the O-rings are niced and greased up to keep them from moving around when you put the pump in the reservoir.
    Personally, I would save the dough on that....I remember reading somewhere that you can tweak your pump to get it to push out more psi's, but I don't remember where I read that....If I would've known that, I wouldn't have put their pump on a just bought a stock one with the reservoir already and tweak it....I know it has something to do with the valve in the back, so You don't even have to remove the pump from the reservoir......if I can only remember [​IMG]
    Boss

    Pic of my truck Before N' After
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter</a>
     
  10. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,625
    Likes Received:
    702
    Location:
    CO
    Yeah, I saw that over at pirate, thats what I would do also if I hadn't already got the AGR.

    Steve

    Bandwidth FREE ZONE

    Mall-Running poseur 4x4 with curb-feelers
     
  11. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    BigJ,

    Definately man, next hydro assist I do (will be for my bro) will be from him. He goes by "LakeRat" and is a very good guy!!


    Pic of my truck Before N' After
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter</a>
     
  12. californiak5

    californiak5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Posts:
    820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oceanside, Ca. 92056
    What about the pumps on the newer 1 tons that have the hydro-boost brake system? I thought I heard that they were HD pumps from the factory. Just a thought.

    See Ya,
    Keith

    (Boss, the tray is on it's way. The shipping dept. here at work messed up and didn't get it out on Fri. or Mon. I went and yelled at them and it is going out today for sure. I will get you the tracking # as soon as I get it.)

    [​IMG] <font color=green>Born to Drive My K5</font color=green> [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/californiak5>CaliforniaK5's Pictures</a>
     
  13. ken

    ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    Anyone broken a knuckle from using a Rock Ram? I would stay away!! Besides, everyone is having such good luck with them, and the customer services sounds just great! LOL!!!

    ken
     
  14. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    OK,
    What do you think of this? Anybody running anything like this on a D60? <a target="_blank" href=http://www.allprooffroad.com/pics/1934.jpg>http://www.allprooffroad.com/pics/1934.jpg</a>

    <font color=blue>azblazor</font color=blue>
    <font color=orange> 79 K5 454-FI / 4L80E, NP205, D60, FF14, 4" lift, 9K Warn </font color=orange>
     
  15. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,178
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    DBlazer's front D60 is set up similar to that pic of the Toy. Might want to send hima pm. I remember drooling over the set-up but didn't have much time to ask 300 in depth questions...[​IMG]

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
     
  16. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    Picture of frame cracks. Notice how previous owner has tried to "fix" the cracks by brazing???
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/album24/aad>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/album24/aad</a>

    <font color=blue>azblazor</font color=blue>
    <font color=orange> 79 K5 454-FI / 4L80E, NP205, D60, FF14, 4" lift, 9K Warn </font color=orange>
     
  17. titanic

    titanic 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2000
    Posts:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north alabama(huntsville)
    Build your own crossover kit and make your own "Rock Ram" Ken-I made 1/2" steel plate extentions on both my Steering arms that wrap around the top of the steering knuckle itself so the top 4 studs were not the only thing holding back the ram for just the reason you posted.<a target="_blank" href=http://www.tennessee4x4.com/rocketcity/titanic.htm>www.tennessee4x4.com/rocketcity/titanic.htm</a>
     
  18. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    Steve,
    That is an awesome setup!! Do you have a pic of just the steering arms?
    Mark

    <font color=blue>azblazor</font color=blue>
    <font color=orange> 79 K5 454-FI / 4L80E, NP205, D60, FF14, 4" lift, 9K Warn </font color=orange>
     
  19. ken

    ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    OK titanic, I see where you're at with the tie-rod. The place I've seen 60 knuckles break is where the stock tie-rod mounts to the "ends" of the knuckles, where there is not as much "meat" as there is ontop of the knuckles. That and having the tie-rod enter "way out front" exerts way more leverage than on top like you have it. I guess maybe a rock ram would work good then, but I still personally have no reason for one (sand is pretty forgiving!!).

    ken
     
  20. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,625
    Likes Received:
    702
    Location:
    CO
    Steve
    Do you have any problems with your springs hitting your tie rod? Also, any close-ups of the steering arms etc.

    Steve

    Bandwidth FREE ZONE

    Mall-Running poseur 4x4 with curb-feelers
     

Share This Page