Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Roller cam in a truck block, just some info

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sled_dog, Dec 4, 2004.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Just pulled the intake on my 89 Burb's 350. Has the posts of course, but they are already drilled and tapped and ready to go for roller cam. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif Still not sure if I will run a roller cam setup when I build the motor but just passing on some info.
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The top of the lifter bores must also me machined flat for the roller lifters and sometimes the block may have the 3 boss's for the cradle but the lifter bore tops aren't machined.
     
  3. Ruthven13

    Ruthven13 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Posts:
    664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fair Verona
    Just to add, my '91 Jimmy was fully drilled/machined for roller cam. It has one in it now! If only I could get the injection to work!
     
  4. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yeah well I was always told this wasn't done to truck blocks and believed it, now I know that was wrong. Not to say its done to all truck blocks.
     
  5. camiswelding

    camiswelding 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    my 89 v3500 was tapped and drilled and I just put the roller in it.. wakes up the motor nicely.. still runs on piss gas
     
  6. dave_90_blazer

    dave_90_blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melvindale, Michigan
    just FYI , I have yet to see a 1 piece rear main seal block that was NOT machined for the roller cam

    I have been in 10-15 of them, different years(86-98+)
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    For the cost, if I were to do it again, unless I was A)racing, and needed all the power I could get, or B) got one for free/extremely cheap, I'd not worry about roller.

    I've got one in my truck, but to be honest, I don't know how you would know exactly how much more power you made, unless you did a dyno before/after.
     
  8. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    I am an automotive machinist and have seen and rebuilt many chevy engines over the years and i can say that i have seen some 1 piece rear main seal blocks that were fully ready for roller and others that had the 3 boss's but not drilled or tapped and others that were drilled and tapped but did not have the lifter bore tops machined to accept the roller lifter guide bridge. I can say one thing though, every block i have come across was drilled and tapped in the front for the cam thrust plate, and there are 2 different ones even.
     
  9. K5er4Life

    K5er4Life 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellflower, Ca
    [ QUOTE ]
    I am an automotive machinist and have seen and rebuilt many chevy engines over the years and i can say that i have seen some 1 piece rear main seal blocks that were fully ready for roller and others that had the 3 boss's but not drilled or tapped and others that were drilled and tapped but did not have the lifter bore tops machined to accept the roller lifter guide bridge. I can say one thing though, every block i have come across was drilled and tapped in the front for the cam thrust plate, and there are 2 different ones even.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yeah I have a 87 block and the 3 bosses are there but they were not drilled or tapped. Go figure /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  10. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    [ QUOTE ]
    just FYI , I have yet to see a 1 piece rear main seal block that was NOT machined for the roller cam


    [/ QUOTE ]

    my 86 305 wasnt. every other one i've seen was. pissed me off, i was gonna put the Vortec roller cam in it and run it. too much work to tap the bosses and have the lifter valley machined.
     
  11. 3 on the tree

    3 on the tree 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gunnison colorado
    I thought you had to change the dist. gear to make it compatible with the harder gear on the roller cam, otherwise the dist gear could get worn out quicker than normal. Maybe thats only in Fords?
     
  12. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    1987 was the switch to 1 piece rear main motors, of course your 86 won't have the setup.
     
  13. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    how bout hydro roller?
    i got a 1991 caprice police 350 (9c1)
    [​IMG]



    edited.. i actually read your post and you say you have NOT... :)
     
  14. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    try again. 86 was the first year for the 1 piece RMS.
     
  15. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yeah I apologized and was correct in the thread but it got deleted with the forum move.
     
  16. rcamacho

    rcamacho 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    Factory roller cams had an iron distributor drive gear so a bronze dist gear was not required. The aftermarket has been moving this direction as well, so it depends on the cam.
     

Share This Page