Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

rough country 4" lift

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by GONZO2, Aug 2, 2001.

1. GONZO2

GONZO2 1/2 ton status

rough country 4\" lift

well i got my 4" lift from rough country and i'm in the process of installing the front springs. the new springs are about an 1" shorter than the stock springs. is this right? the rear springs appear to be a little shorter also.
    also i'm not a mechanic or anything. i learn most by trial and error. how does the steering arm come off? i have the 3 nuts removed and the other end is removed from the tie rod. is there a form fitting washer pressed in there. the new one looks like the bolt holes are tapered. help before i get out the really big hammer and break something?

2. txbartman

txbartman 1/2 ton status

Re: rough country 4\" lift

The springs are shorter because they have arch! Your stock ones have lost some of their arch over time, flattening them.

Yes there are tapered washers in each of the holes. I used lots of WD-40 in the holes and a 3 lb sledge to get mine off. It just takes a lot of banging. I removed the tie rod between the tires when I did mine to give me extra room to swing the hammer. I didn't want to accidentally smash the tie rod!

Brian
    Click to see <a target="_blank" href=http://tx85gmcguy.alloffroad.com> My 85 Jimmy </a>

3. GONZO2

GONZO2 1/2 ton status

thanks for the reply.
    i was thinking it was due to the extra arch(the stock ones i pulled were flat), but wasn't sure.
    also the axle does not want to move forward (to seat spring mount) only thing not loosened is break lines and front drive shaft(was tring to do this with removeing as little as possible) i guess i need to remove the front drive shaft?

4. txbartman

txbartman 1/2 ton status