Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

RPM question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by grunt11b40x, Oct 2, 2003.

  1. grunt11b40x

    grunt11b40x 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winston salem, nc
    I have a 350 with a truck/rv toqure cam. just got the k5 on the road yesterday and noticed that she was pulling 4grand at 50mph. tires are 33's auto th350 tranny. is anyone out there pulling about the same RPM's at that speed? /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     
  2. Calclips

    Calclips 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    What gears are you running?
     
  3. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    4000RPM at 50MPH? geez I hope your running 4.56 or 4.88
     
  4. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    Are you sure that your tach isn't set for a 4 cyl or 6 cyl? Lots of tachs need to have a couple of wires cut to run them on an 8 cyl, if you don't cut them then they will read high. You would need to have 7.86 gears to actually turn 4000 RPM at 50MPH, unless your tranny is slipping in glorious fashion...
     
  5. grunt11b40x

    grunt11b40x 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winston salem, nc
    I guess i need to check my tach then, i forgot about that. as far has gears go i am sad to said i don't have a clue it's a stock set up for a 75 k5 guess i need to get a litle dirty and find out /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
     
  6. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    does the truck sound like its turnin 4 grand? also, are u sure you dont have it in 2nd? my column display is off its between 2 and D on mine when im in D.
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Your speedometer is wrong anyways. If you've never changed the speedo gears, it can't be right with that size tire. Going to have to figure out your actual speed before saying the tach is wrong.
     
  8. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Even if it was off...4,000 RPM in 3rd gear would be very fast.
     
  9. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Even if it was off...4,000 RPM in 3rd gear would be very fast.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So if you don't want to know the real answer, why bother with being accurate in the first place. /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif
     
  10. Don

    Don 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Posts:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane Washington
    Mine run's about 2800 at 60 mph. 33" tire's, 4:10 gear's, TH350. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  11. grunt11b40x

    grunt11b40x 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winston salem, nc
    well It does not feel like she pulling four grand, while driving i switched the tach from 8cyl to 4 cyl thinking that it should change the reading on it and it only bumped down about 5oo rpm's I think the tach may be shot
     

Share This Page