Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Rubicon - how built do ya need to be?

Discussion in 'Pacific Region' started by Shaggy, Aug 15, 2002.

1. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status

<font color="green"> I'm really looking forward to running the 'con, but after seeing the pics of it I'm a little wary about whether I'm going to be able to even make it through without rolling my junk, or at least without tearing it up pretty bad. In general, what are the minimum mods (tire size, lockers, etc) that are required? Is width a huge issue? I know that one a fullsize body damage is inevitable, and I'm fine with that, so long as I can still open my doors at the end of the trail. I will still be able to open my doors, right? OK, the disclaimer - I know that experience is a huge factor. I think I am a decent driver, not the greatest but I hold my own. Not alot of experience on the rocks but when I do play on them I do pretty well. Anyways, any info you guys can offer would be cool... Looking forward to running it maybe next year.</font color>

2. Chaz88K5

Chaz88K5 1/2 ton status

well since in a full size i would say you need at least 35's...at least one locker front or rear...and unless you like lots of body damage some type of rocker guard..

3. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status

<font color="green"> OK, well I'll be on 38s with a welded 14b and an ARB in the front D60, so I think I'm OK there. I wasn't planning on shaving the 14 bolt but after seeing how far down the lip hangs I think that I may. I just worry about the strength after shaving it.