Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Running a steer. stab. with crossover??

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by Zepplin, Mar 1, 2002.

  1. Zepplin

    Zepplin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Posts:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay City, MI 48706
    Some day, plan to run a high steer set-up on a Dana 60.
    When looking at pictures of Fox's set-up it doesn't look like he has a steering stablizer. I know he wants to go hydro but, I would just run the high steer with the regular power steering.

    So, can you and do you need a steering stablilzer with this set-up? I just don't know where I would mount the stabilzer.
    I would think I would need at least one with 38.5" TSL's.

    Thanks!

    <font color=red>74 Blazer<font color=red>
    <font color=red>Zepplin<font color=red>
    <font color=red>Check out my Blazer<font color=red>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albup14>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albup14</a>
     
  2. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    I like to reserve the option of running a stabilizer. They're a bandaid for worn parts in a lot of cases but it's impractical to replace joints all the time when they're worn just a little.
    Basically it's down to fabricating a mount somehow, tie rod over setups have a lot of stuff to shove in a small space. Don't have any real good advice past that.

    Making the world better, one truck at a time.
    SW-ORD
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.offroaddesign.com>www.offroaddesign.com</a>
     
  3. Zepplin

    Zepplin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Posts:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay City, MI 48706
    Thanks Stephen. I figured it would involve some form of fabriacation.
     
  4. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,625
    Likes Received:
    702
    Location:
    CO
  5. Zepplin

    Zepplin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Posts:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay City, MI 48706
    Steve Fox,

    So basically fab up mounts like your hydro-setup and put the steering stabilzer there?

    I think that is what you are getting at.
     
  6. ChadH82

    ChadH82 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stillwater, Oklahoma
    Is the hydro hooked into your diff. cover? I've never seen that done before. I guess there's not really anywhere else to put it. Looks good.
     
  7. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,625
    Likes Received:
    702
    Location:
    CO
    Yeah, you could mount a stabilizer where my ram is. The ram is mounted to the rock ring, one nice thing I guess is that I didn't have to weld to the axle at all, so if I change things around again (hey, at the rate I'm going) it will be pretty simple.
     

Share This Page