Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

running hot

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by m4, Jul 17, 2005.

  1. m4

    m4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello, I have a 1991 sub 4X4 auto that gets very hot when stopped in traffic.
    1. Newer crate motor
    2.newer factory radiator 2 core
    3. thermosat
    4. clutch fan turns the same as a new hayden I bought but haven't installed
    5. good hoses and coolent
    6. full shroud
    Run @ 210 on freeway but when stopped with air on 250?
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2005
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,059
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Sounds like too small of a radiator to me. I don't think i ever even seen a 2 row radiator unless it was an aluminum radiator with two 1" or 1 1/4" rows.
     
  3. m4

    m4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Maybe not a two core but is the replacement for that year!
     
  4. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    How many miles? It seems you have replaced everything but the waterpump. In rare instances I have seen the impeller on a waterpump worn down to almost nothing. The higher engine RPM causes enough cavitation to make the coolant flow through. You need to check the waterflow. I've seen a brand new t.stat not open fully and restrict flow. A large enough air pocket around the t.stat will keep it from functioning properly also. Is there anything blocking the radiator? An A/C condenser that is full of trash will keep the radiator from cooling properly.....Lemme know
     
  5. m4

    m4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    A new water pump was installed with crate motor. removed radiator not much between condenser and radiator. I'm going to install a four core radiator and a high flow water pump and see!
     
  6. Jimbo*

    Jimbo* 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    roswell, new mexico
    Do those mods one at a time; change the radiator first and see if that solves your problem, I'd bet it will. If it still not cool enough for you, then change the water pump. You might test the t-stat in a pan of boiling water also, just to make sure it is opening like it should.
    Let us know, Jimbo
     
  7. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Seems like in the last yr or so, Ive heard of alot of t-stat problems. Even being bad right out of the box. Be and easy change for very little $$, alot less than a radiator.
     
  8. m4

    m4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I'll put a new thermostat in also. Thanks all for your help
     
  9. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Or just pull it and see if the problem disappears or changes.

    Also, sure the gauge is reading correct? (with the 40* difference in AC vs. non-AC, I say there is a real problem though)
     
  10. m4

    m4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I installed a high flow Edelbrock water pump, new clutch fan. Four core radiator that I ordered is to big, not sure what I going to do with it. I broke off flush one of the thermostat housing bolts, man they were tight. So now I need to drill out the bolt.
     

Share This Page