Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Running Sand Any Precautions? Advice?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BowtieBlazer, Apr 5, 2002.

1. BowtieBlazer

BowtieBlazer 1/2 ton status

I have never done a trail run before on a beach front. Any advice while driving in sand? Is speed the key? Paw print? Things to spray off ASAP to keep from ruining?

2. GMCLegacy

GMCLegacy 1/2 ton status

run your tires down to 10-15 psi, it will make a worlds of difference. also i always greased all ujoint, tierods, ball joints afterward.

3. Ryan B.

Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

If you got 15" rims like me i like to take em down to about 8 PSI and get a nice bulge in the sidewall.
    It makes a greater contact area.. and gives you more floatation. and floatation is what your after on the sand.
    If you keep em at street pressure you'll just dig your truck down to the axles.
    AIR IT DOWN!
    with 16's or 16.5's i wouldn't go below double digit #'s i think.

Mash that gas pedal and have fun man!

Hose off your exhaust asap... along with any chrome.... and don't play in the ocean salt water no matter how tempting it is. Very good way to rust out your truck. /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

4. BowtieBlazer

Damn! Hehe....I was planning on letting all the fords I am going with [9 broncos and a blazer /forums/images/icons/smile.gif ] run the ocean and just sit back and watch. I think I know better than to forge the ocean...especially after all the seal changing I have done this weel.

I have 10 inch rims and running weenie 31 10.50's how low can I go without worry of losing the bead?

5. Pugsley

Pugsley 1/2 ton status