Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Running the engine on the stand

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RustBuket, Jun 20, 2003.

  1. RustBuket

    RustBuket 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Posts:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    I am in the process of building a 305 for my 81 1/2 ton chev and I'm very close to dropping it back in, however, someoen reccomended that I break the cam in and such while its on the stand... /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif They say to hook up the starter and run some lines back to a makeshift gas tank. This all seems fine and dandy but where would you put the radiator and such? Also, where could I get a cheap gauge to make sure my oil pressure is coming up (one that would fit in the hole at the back of the block by the distributor) /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. willyswanter

    willyswanter 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2000
    Posts:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    Well first of all don't start it on a regular rolling engine stand /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif. Either build or buy a engine testing stand. Will need a radiator with fans, gas tank, starter button, battery, oil pressure gauge, temp gauge, etc...
     
  3. gravdigr

    gravdigr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyrone, PA
    *picturing engine torqueing and the engine and stand doing a rolling 3 stooges ballet across the garage floor* /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     
  4. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    I used some 1x1 tubing and an old stick shift bellhousinf to make a test stand worked good. used an old rad from a truck, and put a cheapo guage cluster on it too. It only cost about 30 bucks to make and some time.
     
  5. MousePowrd

    MousePowrd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saginaw, MI
    I wouldnt waste my time putting it on a stand. The only reason to do this would be if a rod went through the block, and then you wouldnt have to pull the engine again. /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
    Otherwise doing it in the chassis is fine. Otherwise you need to fab a fuel tank, exhaust, rad, blah blah
     

Share This Page