Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Runs a bit rough after K&N filter

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by solowookie, Apr 14, 2001.

  1. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Hey,

    I have an 89 w/ TBI... I just installed a 4" K&N filter. I am a little poor on the terms here but I'll explain this as best as possible.

    The breather lines that typically go into the air filter don't seem to be there on mine. There is a spot on the factory air filter, but nothing was connected to it that I could see. There are a couple of lines that run directly from my valve covers into the throttle body.

    I just blocked this spot off on the K&N filter, and it runs a little rought at times. The problem does seem to be going away the more time goes on... I don't know if it will take a bit of time for the computer to adjust... All of the smog stuff has been taken off (except the pump)...

    Any advice?

    Thanks,

    Jeff
     
  2. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Still looking for some tips if anybody has some... I thought I'd bring this back to the top.

    Thanks

    <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue>

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  3. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Just a thought, Did you put additional oil on the filter before you put it on? I made that mistake once, I got too much oil on the filter, caused it to run rich.......Had to clean it all off and start over.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Goose

    Goose 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Central Kansas
    those lines that run from the valve covers to the intake would be part of your pcv system. You still need those in order to vent blow by gases out of the engine.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    no, I didn't oil it again... :) I noticed it said it was pre oiled!!

    Thanks,

    <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue>

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  6. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I didn't disconnect any lines. I left them all connected, but I thought I was kind of weird that there was a fitting on the factory air filter for a line, but nothing was connected to it.

    Actually, the problem is almost non-existen now. I added all of the exhaust stuff (hooker headers, took out all of the smog and cat. converter stuff, and added true dual exhaust w/ flow masters) a couple days before I added the filter. Actually it was about a week, but it was in the shop for most of the time.

    It almost seems like it has the idle set a bit low some of the time.

    <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue>

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  7. BIGRIG

    BIGRIG 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Independence, MO
    Try this one....Since you've exnayed all the emmisions stuff and let it suck more air your whole motor is breathing and exhaling better, disconnect the battery for 10-15 minutes and let the computer totally reset. It's probably still trying to compensate for all the changes made.

    MY DRINKING TEAM HAS A FOUR WHEELING PROBLEM!
     
  8. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Hey, I'll try that and let you know...

    Thanks for the tip! [​IMG]

    <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue>

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  9. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Hey,

    I did as suggested, and it is still a bit early to tell. However, It started the easiest it has started in a long time, and just starting it in the garage and running it for a moment, it felt much more responsive.

    I'll keep you posted, and thanks again for the tip.

    <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue>

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  10. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    The big test for this was after I started it the first time (still very cold up here at 7000 feet), and it ran great! [​IMG]

    This thing was running real rough when it was cold, and it's OK now...

    Thanks for the tip.

    <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue>

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  11. BIGRIG

    BIGRIG 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Independence, MO
    Glad to hear it, and glad to help.
    Just remember anytime you do anything that constitutes a big change like that disconnect the battery.

    Chris


    MY DRINKING TEAM HAS A FOUR WHEELING PROBLEM!
     

Share This Page