Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

S-10 Blazer....HELP!!

Discussion in 'Other Rides' started by stump, Aug 31, 2001.

1. stump

stump Registered Member

Hi guys! Newbie here, with a BIG problem! Here's my problem(s):

A few weeks ago my 1991 S-10 Blazer (TBI) started going crazy. It started idleling (spelling?) rough, and when I get up to 50-60 mph, the truck begins shaking and looses power, particularly when I punch the accelerator. At first I thought the tranny was slipping, etc. But, here's the confusing part. When sitting still and the motor running, if I turn on the headlights, domelight, etc., the motor acts like it's going to stall. (but never does) And just today, I put the CD, amp, and subs back in. When I am going down the road and turn on the stereo, my Blazer again starts running rough and will sometimes stall. And the louder I turn the stereo up, the rougher the motor runs. Furthermore, I can hear a strange noise in my stereo speakers that wasn't there before. The noise seems to be harmonic with the motor. Oh yeah, and the CB all of a sudden doesn't work near as well as it used to.

Whats going on here?? At first I though it was just the transmission about to grenade, but all this electrical stuff has me sitting here scratching my head. I tried searching through the troubleshooting section of my Haynes and Chilton books, but they left me more confused because they had too many possible problems/solutions. Do y'all think all these problems are linked? (they started about the same time) I was thinking it may be a bad computer, bad alternator, etc... Any ideas?

Thanks,
    Aaron