Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

saddle tanks vs between the frame tanks..

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by jekbrown, Nov 10, 2005.

  1. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    The tow rig I got has saddle tanks. two 20 gallon tanks from what I understand. Previous owner said the drivers side "probably is pretty scuzzy"... not sure why he thinks that, keeps clogging fuel filters maybe? Anyway, I really don't like where they are located either... when I go flatbed, I might want big tool boxes to go there. I have a 31 gallon tank from my '85 K5 that is in really good shape... will it fit between the frame rails on a 75 3/4 ton 2wd truck? Floor clearance won't be an issue... flatbed will sit higher than the bed does now. If its OK with respect to width, I might track down a 40 gallon tank from an 80s Burb... need a lot of gas to feed a 454. Anyway, can you swap the newer style tank into older rigs?

    j
     
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    nm... found the answer to my question via searching. lol! I guess all I need to do now is get the bed off my C25 and figure out where to put the tank. :)

    btw, will my gas guage work ok? tank is stock from my 85 K5... truck is '75 c25 2wd.

    j
     
  3. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    the tank should fit between the frame rails, i don't think they changed the width much.

    all GM senders use the 0-30 ohm for the guage so it will work.
     
  4. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,546
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    got a 31 blazer unit in my project truck. :D
     
  5. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Nope. All GM sending units are 0-90 Ohm.
     
  6. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    i knew it was something like that, lol
     
  7. chopped&bobbed77burb

    chopped&bobbed77burb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    milwaukie,oregon
    You should be able to use the blazer sending unit in either a 31 or 40 gallon tank . I took out my 40 and went to a 31 and the depth of the tank's is the same . If you want a really good 40 gallon tank & straps and the factory skid plate, you can have the stuff I took out of my burb . It's free . just come and get it . I'm in Milwaukie , Oregon and I'm not to far from you . Bruce .
     
  8. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Kick ass bruce, thats what I'm talkin about. :thumb: you have a PM!

    j
     

Share This Page