Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Saw a new antiwrap idea that looked pretty good

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Paxx, Apr 19, 2006.

1. Paxx

Paxx 1/2 ton status

I was reading in crawl magazine and saw an interesting antiwrap idea. There was a mount on top of the leaf pack directly above the axle with a link that traveled forward to connect just behind the front spring hanger. I studied it a bit and can see how it could work quite well with no apparent binding that I noticed. The only problem you might run into would be not enough clearance between it and the frame. I guess it would just depend on how much bump travel you have.

Anyways just thought I would share the idea with you all. sorry I have no pics but like I said it came from a magazine.

~Max

2. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

sounds interesting. If you come across pics or crude drawings, post them up

3. gmcman355

gmcman355 Registered Member

did they use a shackle of any sort on this or how exactly did it mount. getting ready to build something for mine and am interested in this idea

4. jms

jms 1/2 ton status Author

There used to be a (a bit flimsy-looking) kit for that, and I believe I've seen someone on here using and old draglink for that... it's been quite a while, though.

5. kgblazerfive

kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

If both ends are solidly mounted ie. no slider it won't work. Leat springs move in a up and down motion, Ladder bars, four links, coils move in a half moon direction. If the bar is attached at both ends that is how its going to move. That is why they make sliders and stuff because at some point in the movement of the axel it binds.

6. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status