Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

sawsall - top = no fuel pump

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by rich'90, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I know a bunch of you cut your tops off and have made your blazers into a convertable. I just cut my top off getting ready to put a full cage in and now it won't start. The fuel pump will not engage. Is there a ground or something I messed with when I cut the top off. Oh, I took the tailgate and doors off too and of course all the interior.
    Please help.
    Thanks
    Rich
     
  2. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    check to see if you are getting voltage to the pump. Taking the top off should not cause it because the frame is used as the ground for the fuel pump. maby when you took the doors off you knocked somthing loose under the dash.
     
  3. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    spark chasers help

    I tried the everything I can think of.
    Nothing seems to work.
    All I can figure out is that one side of the fuse box does not seem to work.
    The 3 on the left hand side marked
    HORN DIM
    T/L CTSY
    ECMB
    and one in the center marked
    INSTR LPS

    are not getting power at all.
    Everything else works. It cranks over but won't start due to no fuel and I can't get power to those fuses.
    ANY, and I mean ANY suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Rich
     
  4. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    add more info

    try plugging your doors back in
    there is a very good chance you dissrupted the circuit when you unplugged the doors
    if you un plug one door, the windows and locks wont work

    look at this to
    linky
     
  5. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    reconnected the doors and the tailgate wireing harnesses.
    still nothing.
    any other ideas?????????
     
  6. Kiwi John

    Kiwi John 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Sussex, England, U.K.
    Is there a 'fuseable link' in the cable from battery to fuse box or ignition switch? That may have blown They are like an in-line fuse.
     
  7. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    check the fuses
     
  8. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    checked all the fuses and none blown.
    trying to research the fusable link theory. Where are they and how do you check to see if they are good.
    also may have another theory as to something that might have caused it. While I was taking the top, doors, tailgate off, I was also charging the battery and thought nothing of it. Could I have blown something that way. I was using the slow charge option. But if the fusable link from the battery was blown why would half of the fuse box still get power??
    I am very confused.
     
  9. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    quick weld your top back on, see if that helps :D











    J/K man i got no idea, time for a wire search
     
  10. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    too late, already have the cage in!
    Thanks though :doah:
     
  11. 4trolls

    4trolls 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vancouver wa
    I welded on a willys with the 6 volt gen. once ,I didnt know it would back feed and fry it. may be the welder grounded through the fuel pump. I dont know if that can happen or not ,but this kind of thing is why I dissconect the battery when I weld on a truck :confused:
     
  12. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Fusible links are essentially fuses inline with a wire. They burn up, you cut it out and replace.

    There is a junction block on the firewall, has red wires going to it. See if you've got 12V to that.
     
  13. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I do have 12V going to the junction box and then power to 60% of the fuse box. Just can't figure out why that one side does not have power. Tried checking all the fusible links but not sure if I got them all.
    In the future I will disconnect the battery anytime I weld or charge it!
    Still puzzeled!! Anyone else?? :confused:
     
  14. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    am able to start the blazer by putting power to the ECMB fuse. Pump comes on and all is well, but I don't want to have to splice power into that side of the fuses box, lights won't work either without a splice.
    I will keep chasing wires until someone gives me another idea. :thinking:
     
  15. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Aren't there two wires coming from that junction to the fuse panel?

    To my knowledge no one has actually determined if thats how the fuse panel is wired, but on the GM cars, the fuse panel is essentially split in half for power feeds via the wiring coming off the junction block.

    There are probably two fusible links/wires going into the fuse panel from the junction, and I'd suspect one of those is dead. If all wires going into the panel have 12V, you may have a bad shunt in the panel or the panel wiring in the back is messed up.
     
  16. rich'90

    rich'90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    dyeager, thanks! You were right. The fuse box is split in half. Found another fusible link and it was burnt. All this had nothing to do with sawing off the top and taking off the doors. Guess I must have burnt the link when I tried to charge the battery or while I was welding. Who knows??? All I know is that it works now just like before.

    Thanks for everyones suggestions.

    Rich :D
     

Share This Page