Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Sawsall - Will a 6 amp @ 2300 CUT IT???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BigBurban350, May 12, 2003.

  1. BigBurban350

    BigBurban350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I am going to buy a sawsall from homedepot, they got a 6 amp @ 2300 for $50, for and extra $50 which I dont really want to spend I can get a 10 amp @ 2600 with a variable trigger. I dont have much money, so will the cheaper one handle it(as in cutting my K-5 body into sections)? /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/burb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  2. ramjet gmc

    ramjet gmc CK5 Staff Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milltown NJ 08850 NJ sucks
    I would always go for the better saw for life span and a good blades
     
  3. gmule

    gmule 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Posts:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conifer Colorado
    I would spend the extra money for the vairiable speed trigger could come in handy when you get in those tricky spots
     
  4. BLZN4FN

    BLZN4FN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Posts:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Englewood Colorado
    I would go with the better of the two.
    But since your on a budget see how the warrenty(sp) is on the cheaper one if it goes bad just keep doing returns.
     
  5. SUBFAN

    SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport, Ia
    I bought the Milwaukee 11 amp, no way I'm going to give that back, makes me wonder about all those years with the hacksaw.... /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  6. Triaged

    Triaged 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Posts:
    3,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA (LA/OC area)
    Without variable speed you will go through more blades. It can add up quick. Mine is a 11.5A Porter Cable. I have rarely used full power (it just burns up the blade in steel or cuts to fast to have any control in wood).
     
  7. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    If Your talking about those Ryobi's that they have on sale a couple times a year, then I would say yeah. I bought one about a year and a half ago and use it all the time. I never planed on it lasting forever just long enough untill I bought a better one, but hey for $50 bucks it was a start.
     

Share This Page