Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

school me on rotating my transfer case...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Loose Nut, Oct 19, 2006.

1. Loose Nut

Loose Nut Banned

can it be done? I'm still learning about alot of this stuff. If i look at the bottom of my rig it appears that my t-case hangs very low, and i think i saw something somewhere about spinning it?

Thinking if this can be done i would gain a ton of clearence.

2. Drey

Drey 3/4 ton status

3. gmc4cw

gmc4cw 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

even if you have a 205 it can be done. there is a guy selling the setup on E-bay. I bought the 208/241 clocking ring from Great Lake Offroad. I do NOT recomend them. the quality left something to be desired. the owner offered no resolution when I called. I spent about an hour and a half making it right/cleaning it up. It works, I would recomend DIY4X. I have emailed Kert and was very happy with the responses I receive.

4. Loose Nut

Loose Nut Banned

if you dont mind, what all is involved and is this something i could to in my driveway with little mechanical skill?

5. Chaddy

Chaddy 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

Yes you can. You will want to build a new crossmember and you will need $$ for a drive line...........And I would NEVER buy a clocking ring from GLO. Like said before...buy 1 from DIY

6. jays68yak

jays68yak 1/2 ton status

Not to hijack, what issues did you have with GLO?

7. Chaddy

Dont get me wrong, GLO (shawn) gave me killer customer service but the ring itself is not up to par. The holes dont work if you want it flat without raising the whole drivetrain up 4 inches or you have to drill and tap new ones. The bolts they sent out were too short BUT he made it right by sending me new longer bolts but then I had to redo the ring again to put the longer bolts in.

8. gmc4cw