Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Schucks Problem

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by K5XLR8R, Apr 5, 2001.

  1. K5XLR8R

    K5XLR8R 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Posts:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    OK, I deside to Finally change the plugs and wires on the 'ol Blazer, so I get the top end Schucks/Autolite wires...low and behold not all the wires are long enough....I sat there for an hour and a half re-wireing and swappin wires trying to get it to fit...so I go back to see if I can get a longer one...result?? "Well, I cain't just give you one from these, then there will be one short in this box.." my response..."Well I'm not spending more of my time to take them all back off and run back down here..".........What do you folks think??? Am I right or wrong at not wanting to take anymore time in dealing with this...??? Why cain't they just give me a longer wire and call it good..?? It's not my fault that Autolite and whoever fouled up!!!...anyway...Anyone else had this Prob????
     
  2. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    Sounds like something was missboxed or pulled wrong on the partsman's side. I got some racing wires. I like them. YOU decide how long they are and the wire is a little bigger and the insulation is better (a plus if you run headers like I do).

    [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://k5chevyblazer.homestead.com/home.html>http://k5chevyblazer.homestead.com/home.html</A>
     
  3. K5XLR8R

    K5XLR8R 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Posts:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Yeah, the old ones were all really long...at least enough to keep them up and out of the way of the manifold....Right now I have one of the old ones on there and that doesn't make me to happy....
     
  4. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    Go to my website and then to the blazer link. I have a pic of the wires. They're yella! I love 'em!

    [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://k5chevyblazer.homestead.com/home.html>http://k5chevyblazer.homestead.com/home.html</A>
     
  5. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Hmmm.. Either hold your ground and make them give you a new wire or take them off and throw'em on the counter and demand your money back! Go to Summit Racing and buy a set of Taylor Spiro Pros for $36!!! They have always fit and last a long time!!!!!!!


    <font color=green><A target="_blank" HREF=http://emmett.coloradok5.com>http://emmett.coloradok5.com</A></font color=green>[​IMG]
     
  6. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    Nevermind...here..
    [​IMG]
    Jeese Louise! I need to clean up that compartment!

    [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://k5chevyblazer.homestead.com/home.html>http://k5chevyblazer.homestead.com/home.html</A><P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by muddin4fun on 04/05/01 02:16 PM (server time).</FONT></P>
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    You are right, it shouldn't matter that their's is short one wire. Got a better idea. Buy a new box (with the right size wire) then take back the whole new box AFTER swapping the right wire, telling them you no longer need them. They would end up doing the same thing that you would have to argue with them to do, and this way, all you have to do is shell out the extra $40 or so, for however long it takes you to swap the two wires.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     

Share This Page